Norwegian Christmas Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
this was really good, great taste!! Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanja

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Very easy recipe, and came out quite tasty. I might try it without the bacon next time to make it healthier, and I'm pretty sure it would still be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
We loved this. I served it with Swedish meatballs and mashed potatoes with rutabaga.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
This was so good with our ham. I used less sugar but otherwise followed the directions as written and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I don't want it to be quite so much like sauerkraut, so rather then shredding the cabbage, I cut it up into larger pieces (bite size or larger).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ScorpioGG
Home Town: Zeeland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I didn't have any caraway seed but it still turned out delicious. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
I took ideas from a few of the previous reviews to make this cabbage and it was delicious! I used bacon pieces instead of strips, apple cider vinegar and Splenda instead of sugar (Splenda is somewhat sweeter than suger so be careful). I also threw in a vegetable bouillon cube and used less salt; instead of pouring salt on all layer, I salted 2 of 4 layers. I don't think you need as much flour as the recipe calls for; next time, I'll use half. Also, I could have thrown in another head of cabbage after the first head boiled down to even out the juice. Even though there are some things that I would do differently next time, this was still the best cabbage I've made and I've made a lot of cabbage! You can not go wrong with following the recipe verbatim.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
was easy and something different. My whole family liked it even the kids. I will definately make this one again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
This tastes alot like a cabbage dish my Hungarian grandparents make, however theirs has a orangey-red colouring. Perhaps they add paprika to it? I did make one mistake by using salt instead of the caraway seeds in the layering process. I did mix in a bunch of caraway seeds when I realized my error, and luckily the dish didn't turn out salty. I omitted the bacon just because I felt it wouldn't add all that much to the dish other than fat. The amount of sugar and vinegar in the recipe was just right to achieve the sweet-sour ratio. Another great way to make cabbage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Great! My variation was Apple Cider Vinegar and Chinese Cabbage. I prefer the texture of Chinese cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States