Norwegian Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Amazing! Just like the cookies I grew up with
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Yummy! But I find I like them more than slightly browned :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
I had to try this twice to get the consistency right for the dough, because it was way too dry the first time. Creaming the egg yolk with the butter with a whisk helped, rather than just using a small spatula or a spoon. I'm very happy with these cookies, and to make them a little more interesting with some tartness, I pressed my thumbprint into the centers and added just a tiny drop of Ikea's Swedish Lingonberry jam in the centers before baking. So now they're Swedish-Norwegian, but very good nonetheless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I have this recipe of my grandmother's from the late 1800's. I always thought it was a "family" secret recipe. Was very suprised to find it on the internet. I am very happy to see that others are enjoying this most wonderful Holiday cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I love this recipe! Just like grandma used to make, yes we're norwegian! We roll ours in powdered sugar when they are done. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ComfortablyKimmi

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
These are awesome! They are SO tender and buttery. They make me drool. I needed a cookie to use with some detailed push on cookie cutters from Williams Sonoma. I used salted butter and added an extra 1/4 tsp of salt because I have to use powdered sugar to get them to come out of the cookie cutters. I also intend to decorate them with icing. These hold their shape fairly well in spite of all of the fat. Yes, you do need to push the egg yolks thru a sieve or you will have yolk bits through out the dough. I used half a tsp of finey grated lemon zest which was very nice too. Could possibly see experimenting adding a little cocoa powder for a variation. Highly recommend these. Don't know why more people haven't tried them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naryia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mrsfly
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
This was my first time using a cookie press and this dough was excellent. I made 3 batches and added 1/4 cup of almond butter to one, 2 tsp of lemon zest to another, and 2 tbs of cocoa to the third. This recipe made equally excellent almond, lemon and cocoa shortbread. Tasty, easy to make and work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
It's REALLY important to press the cooked yolks through a fine sieve before beating them with the butter, etc. Never an egg-y taste or texture. I've been making these for over 40 years.I've used a cookie press,or made them into balls & rolled in sprinkles, or chop't nuts, or sugar, etc, or pressed the balls with my thumbprint and filled with jam, colored sprinkles, a choc. kiss, or Nutella. And a dab of food coloring paste will tint them well. These are wonderful, and you can make many variations. Also, the dough AND the cookies freeze very well; just don't pack them too tightly or they'll crumble (...but then you can use the cookie crumbs for a parfait, with ice cream or pudding! ) Don't miss out- these are the easiest and most popular cookies I make. Also, they're delicate enough to make for a shower, etc. I've made little blue and/or pink ones for showers, and small pink heart cookie press ones for Valentine's Day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterville, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
These are good! Tastes just like the Danish butter cookies I grew up eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
I didn't like these AT ALL, but that's just because I hate the taste and texture of egg yolks. Should have known, I guess! If you're not a fan of eggs yolks, this recipe is not for you. My boyfriend thought they were absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States