Norwegian Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Amazing! Just like the cookies I grew up with
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Yummy! But I find I like them more than slightly browned :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
I had to try this twice to get the consistency right for the dough, because it was way too dry the first time. Creaming the egg yolk with the butter with a whisk helped, rather than just using a small spatula or a spoon. I'm very happy with these cookies, and to make them a little more interesting with some tartness, I pressed my thumbprint into the centers and added just a tiny drop of Ikea's Swedish Lingonberry jam in the centers before baking. So now they're Swedish-Norwegian, but very good nonetheless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I have this recipe of my grandmother's from the late 1800's. I always thought it was a "family" secret recipe. Was very suprised to find it on the internet. I am very happy to see that others are enjoying this most wonderful Holiday cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I love this recipe! Just like grandma used to make, yes we're norwegian! We roll ours in powdered sugar when they are done. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ComfortablyKimmi

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
These are awesome! They are SO tender and buttery. They make me drool. I needed a cookie to use with some detailed push on cookie cutters from Williams Sonoma. I used salted butter and added an extra 1/4 tsp of salt because I have to use powdered sugar to get them to come out of the cookie cutters. I also intend to decorate them with icing. These hold their shape fairly well in spite of all of the fat. Yes, you do need to push the egg yolks thru a sieve or you will have yolk bits through out the dough. I used half a tsp of finey grated lemon zest which was very nice too. Could possibly see experimenting adding a little cocoa powder for a variation. Highly recommend these. Don't know why more people haven't tried them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naryia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mrsfly
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
This was my first time using a cookie press and this dough was excellent. I made 3 batches and added 1/4 cup of almond butter to one, 2 tsp of lemon zest to another, and 2 tbs of cocoa to the third. This recipe made equally excellent almond, lemon and cocoa shortbread. Tasty, easy to make and work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
It's REALLY important to press the cooked yolks through a fine sieve before beating them with the butter, etc. Never an egg-y taste or texture. I've been making these for over 40 years.I've used a cookie press,or made them into balls & rolled in sprinkles, or chop't nuts, or sugar, etc, or pressed the balls with my thumbprint and filled with jam, colored sprinkles, a choc. kiss, or Nutella. And a dab of food coloring paste will tint them well. These are wonderful, and you can make many variations. Also, the dough AND the cookies freeze very well; just don't pack them too tightly or they'll crumble (...but then you can use the cookie crumbs for a parfait, with ice cream or pudding! ) Don't miss out- these are the easiest and most popular cookies I make. Also, they're delicate enough to make for a shower, etc. I've made little blue and/or pink ones for showers, and small pink heart cookie press ones for Valentine's Day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterville, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
These are good! Tastes just like the Danish butter cookies I grew up eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
I didn't like these AT ALL, but that's just because I hate the taste and texture of egg yolks. Should have known, I guess! If you're not a fan of eggs yolks, this recipe is not for you. My boyfriend thought they were absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States