Norwegian Almond Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
This is the same recipe that my Norwegian grandmother made, we have always called it almond torte. One difference is that we used grated dark chocolate to cover the top which made it prettier, I like the taste of the torte itself and do not use the chocolate, my grandma always used the chocolate. This is a huge treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
this is exactly what my norwegian mother makes..thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
OMG! The smell in my kitchen is heavenly! I can't wait 'til it cools enough to eat! My husband and I taste-tested the cake batter and custard because we couldn't wait until the cake is assembled. I took the cake out of the oven after 22 minutes because it looked like it was close to burning. I think I'll turn down the oven temperature to 325 the next time I make this recipe. I used 2 cups of Bob's Red Mill almond flour / meal because I didn't have any almonds on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
Great cake. I've been looking for a gluten free, reallllly good cake recipe to make for my friend. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
This is really good and has a lot of texture. Addictive and can't stop eating it. I kept it as one of my favorites and I will be making again, in fact I dream about it. We're not allergic to wheat or anything like gluten free and I made it for someone who is and ended up loving it so much and was surprised pleasantly. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
What a nice surprise. Didn't have time to refrigerate the custard 24 hours and it was a little thin. But the thin sauce just made the awesome cake stand out more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
This was so tasty.....mmmmmmm...the only problem was the egg yolk mixture didn't thicken in a water bath so i poured everything into a pan and it turned out perfect!!!! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marmar

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2005
OH MY GOD!! This recipe is just like my Norwegian grandmother used to make it. She used to call it "Sukse Kake". Have been looking for a similar recipe for years but didn't find it until now. The custard topping really sets it off, but be careful to stir constantly to avoid it burning on the bottom. Got rave reviews from the family - my husband wouldn't stop eating it!! Although a little time consuming I'll definitely make again...YUMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
This cake is AWESOME. I had high hopes for it after I sample the still warm custard topping but the finished product more that surpassed my expectations. This will definitely be among future holiday sweets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
This is SOO good! We were eating the custard topping the day before, immediatly after cooking. Everything was really great but the cake got very very slightly burned. 25 minutes is probably enough for my oven. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States