Northwest Steakhouse Steak Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
I have a question for the submitter: Would this by chance be from the Northwestern Steakhouse in Mason City, IA? If it is, you are my new best friend. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Blanchard Angell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mason City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
Wonderful! A keeper! Like someone else stated, the butter hardens on cold meat. Rachael Ray says let meat 'rest' 20 minutes before cooking it to allow the muscle structure to relax to lessen toughness; so that may help, I'll try that next time. We just melted the extra butter marinade as Hubby turned the steaks on the grill. They did cause flare up, but no burning, so don't get too worried. Taste is just like the high-end steak houses, cause they use BUTTER!!! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LNREED

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
A winner! Hubby loved this one and he's my toughest critic when it comes to what goes on his meat besides S&P. This was really good. I was going to have my husband charcoal this but he didn't have enough so I cooked this on the stove top in my favorite cast iron skillet. This would have been better had I used a better cut of meat than just an inexpensive round steak. I'm looking forward to having this on the grill next time. Thanks!!! 3-29-09 UPDATE: Hubby grilled some NY Strips and these were the BEST EVER! Steak house quality for sure. I was informed this is OUR new steak and everything else seasoning for evermore so don't lose the recipe. I agreed with my husband, this is FABULOUS!!! CAUTION: These will flare up when you place them on the grill. Apparently impressively enough for hubby to excitedly come in and ask me what I put in the "exploding steak" marinade?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Love it! I was wondering if anybody had any tips as far as when you pour the mixture/roll the steaks in it. The butter hardens almost immediately after touching the steaks as well as when you pull the steaks out to BBQ. I ended up breaking a bunch of the marinade up and sprinkling it onto the steaks. Still turned out great, but looking for tips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
This was wonderful! My whole family loved it. I couldn't find Greek seasoning at the store so I made my own using one on AR. I used nonstick foil on the grill and turned the edges up so I wouldn't have flare ups. The steaks were perfect; a little crispy on the edges and juicy in the middle. I grilled them on medium for about 5-7 min on each side. I also saved about a third of the marinade to brush on the steaks while I grilled them. Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Verde Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Why not marinate steaks in butter?! Ha! These steaks were great - we grilled them for out first cookout of the year! Did not disappoint!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
Very easy & Delicious. My hubby loved it and so did the kids. I had some mediocre cuts that was given to us. I really wasn't looking foward to even wasting my time cooking them. But this marinade made it all worthwhile. No leftovers. Also poured remaining marinade over some pre made burgers I had to cook up. Made them 100 x better than just the plain burger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Mound, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
Since making this for the first time 4 nights ago, I've made it again 2 more times!! My family LOVES it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
I thought this was pretty good, but my wife especially loved it. We will definitely use this recipe again. The butter is a steak twist I had not used until today. Do note that these steaks are particularly susceptible to flare up when grilling, because of the butter. Be prepared.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
Excellent marinade. Used on a couple of ribeye steaks that I had and they turned out tender and wonderful! Will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fajita Marinade I

See how to make a 5-star marinade for fabulous steak fajitas.

Deep-Fried Turkey Marinade

This marinade makes a tasty, moist, flavorful bird.

Cajun Spice Mix

See how to make a mildly hot Cajun spice mix…for just about anything!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States