Northwest Steakhouse Steak Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
This was great! I wasn't sure what to think about it at first because steak marinades I've used in the past put more flavor in the steak. This one allows your cut of beef to shine through. I used it on 2 ribeyes. I was serving "Herbed Greek Roasted Potatoes with Feta Cheese" (also on allrecipes.com and also very good) as a side and crumbled some of the leftover feta on top of the steaks as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
Wow, fantastic! I used Emeril's Steak Rub since I was out of Greek seasoning, and it was great (I'm sure any seasoning combo you like would work just fine). The BUTTER is the key ingredient here. I would never have thought of trying it this way. I pour this over steaks in a ziploc a day or two ahead and then set on the counter about 20 mins prior to grilling. I use a gas grill and let it heat on hi about 10 mins, then reduce to medium and add the steaks. It will flare like crazy, so keep an eye on things (but, unless it's obviously badly burning, don't pull the steak off the fire since that gives it great flavor). After a couple mins, I turn the steaks 90 degrees to get the nice grill marks. After a couple more minutes I flip and repeat on the second side. Be aware that whatever temp you use, the steaks will cook more quickly due to the flaring. FWIW, medium thickness steaks take about 8 mins total on medium setting on my grill to reach medium doneness. Once removed to plates, we top each steak with a very thin pat of butter, tiny sprinkle of kosher salt and fresh cracked black pepper, then cover with foil and let rest about 5 mins to let the juices reabsorb. I can't speak to other cuts, but for ribeyes (we look for ones with nice marbling, which always helps) -- absolute perfection! Thanks so much for sharing, Jetta! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DISCOBUNNY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
this marinade was so good! after i grilled it a bit, i put it in the broiler topped with a jalapeno/artichoke/parmesan/cream cheese mixture...then poured a little bit of the marinade that I had reserved and mixed with worcesteshire...it was THE BEST steak ever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
Since making this for the first time 4 nights ago, I've made it again 2 more times!! My family LOVES it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
Very easy & Delicious. My hubby loved it and so did the kids. I had some mediocre cuts that was given to us. I really wasn't looking foward to even wasting my time cooking them. But this marinade made it all worthwhile. No leftovers. Also poured remaining marinade over some pre made burgers I had to cook up. Made them 100 x better than just the plain burger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Mound, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
This was wonderful! My whole family loved it. I couldn't find Greek seasoning at the store so I made my own using one on AR. I used nonstick foil on the grill and turned the edges up so I wouldn't have flare ups. The steaks were perfect; a little crispy on the edges and juicy in the middle. I grilled them on medium for about 5-7 min on each side. I also saved about a third of the marinade to brush on the steaks while I grilled them. Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Verde Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
Wonderful! A keeper! Like someone else stated, the butter hardens on cold meat. Rachael Ray says let meat 'rest' 20 minutes before cooking it to allow the muscle structure to relax to lessen toughness; so that may help, I'll try that next time. We just melted the extra butter marinade as Hubby turned the steaks on the grill. They did cause flare up, but no burning, so don't get too worried. Taste is just like the high-end steak houses, cause they use BUTTER!!! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LNREED

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Why not marinate steaks in butter?! Ha! These steaks were great - we grilled them for out first cookout of the year! Did not disappoint!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Love it! I was wondering if anybody had any tips as far as when you pour the mixture/roll the steaks in it. The butter hardens almost immediately after touching the steaks as well as when you pull the steaks out to BBQ. I ended up breaking a bunch of the marinade up and sprinkling it onto the steaks. Still turned out great, but looking for tips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
A winner! Hubby loved this one and he's my toughest critic when it comes to what goes on his meat besides S&P. This was really good. I was going to have my husband charcoal this but he didn't have enough so I cooked this on the stove top in my favorite cast iron skillet. This would have been better had I used a better cut of meat than just an inexpensive round steak. I'm looking forward to having this on the grill next time. Thanks!!! 3-29-09 UPDATE: Hubby grilled some NY Strips and these were the BEST EVER! Steak house quality for sure. I was informed this is OUR new steak and everything else seasoning for evermore so don't lose the recipe. I agreed with my husband, this is FABULOUS!!! CAUTION: These will flare up when you place them on the grill. Apparently impressively enough for hubby to excitedly come in and ask me what I put in the "exploding steak" marinade?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fajita Marinade I

See how to make a 5-star marinade for fabulous steak fajitas.

Deep-Fried Turkey Marinade

This marinade makes a tasty, moist, flavorful bird.

Cajun Spice Mix

See how to make a mildly hot Cajun spice mix…for just about anything!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States