Northern Italian Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Fantastic! So full of flavor. Just allow more prep time than the recipe says. 1 hour at least.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Juliet, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
To be fair, as written, it is a four star recipe due to a bit of blandness to the flavor. But the second time I made it, I added only basil and oregano as my spices, but upped the garlic to four cloves and added a quarter cup of Worcestershire sauce. Now it is five stars! Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
The taste, which is what we're all after in the first place, conveys a rich delicious broth with tender sweet vegetables and beef, making this stew a winner any day, although I reserve these meals preferably for Sunday lunch or dinner ... and cooked in a slow cooker (crock-pot) Being a retired butcher, catch chuck or shoulder roast on sale ... buy a three or four pound roast ( boneless or bone in ) take it home and cut it up in 1/2" pieces ( trimming the fat off at this time if your so inclined .... leaving some fat on improves the richness of the final product when cooked ) and saving at LEAST a dollar a pound over buying pre-packaged "stew meat", while controlling the preferred bite size and fat content. /Use the amount of stew meat that you think it will take and freezing the rest in portion controlled freezer bags. (I dusted the meat with seasoned ( S&P ) flour before browning it in a skillet) During or after browning the meat, toss in and sauté the onion, celery, carrot, mushrooms and garlic (garlic last ... DO NOT BURN the garlic !) Next, deglaze skillet with some wine and add all to crock pot. I used a "Lambrusco" wine ... added 3 tbl. of "Kitchen Bouquet", and 1 tbl. of "Lee & Perrens Worchester Sauce". ( always! ) (optional ... toss in a hand full or two of frozen corn ( or a small can of "Niblets" white corn, drained ) .... same with peas (small preferred)... both, personal preference to add. This is a recipe not to be missed !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
Great stew. Only change I made was to use venison that I shot last week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miner49er

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Battle Mountain, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Excellent base recipe. It is fabulous as-is, but it became a weekly request from the family once I added about 8 ounces of tikka masala sauce to the pot. I have made this with Calabaza (pumpkin) and sweet potatoes. You can put whatever veggies you have on hand and it will come out great. One time I had to use "Holland House" cooking sherry because we are not wine drinkers and I don't have wine on hand. It didn't seem to change the taste. I also have only made it with stew meat because to use a more expensive cut given the long cook time, in my opinion, is a waste. The meat breaks down beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
We really loved this dish, however we are BIG veggie fans & would most likely double the potatoes, carrots and mushrooms next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
I really enjoyed this recipe,I added salt and 1 head of cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Northern Italian Beef Stew Haiku: "Won't make this again. Too much effort, costs too much. And tasted way 'meh.'" I was surprised that this could smell so outrageously good, and yet the taste was so bland. I followed the recipe exactly w/ the exception of using stew meat (that I'd rolled in s&p & flour b4 searing) and just couldn't get over that the richness (smell, and $$$-wise) of all of those ingredients coming together could result in such a yawn-worthy taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I made this dish dozen times for different family and each one of them love it!!! Made it in a conventional oven, Aga stove, electric stove, they all turn out GREAT!!! either I used cheap beef ribs, top round beef, stewing beef chunks (as long as you trimmed the fat or boil it for a few mins to lessen the fat. thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
This was a great recipe, flavorful and rich. Yes, it takes a bit of time, but well worth it. I cut the recipe in half, and there's enough for 6. Didn't have fresh mushrooms, but a 4 oz. can of mushroom pieces substituted well. Also added 1 1/2 cups fresh green beans, which went well with it. Served with the remaining wine from cooking (a Petite Sirah)...will definitely serve this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States