Northern Italian Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
Great stew. Only change I made was to use venison that I shot last week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miner49er

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Battle Mountain, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Excellent base recipe. It is fabulous as-is, but it became a weekly request from the family once I added about 8 ounces of tikka masala sauce to the pot. I have made this with Calabaza (pumpkin) and sweet potatoes. You can put whatever veggies you have on hand and it will come out great. One time I had to use "Holland House" cooking sherry because we are not wine drinkers and I don't have wine on hand. It didn't seem to change the taste. I also have only made it with stew meat because to use a more expensive cut given the long cook time, in my opinion, is a waste. The meat breaks down beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
We really loved this dish, however we are BIG veggie fans & would most likely double the potatoes, carrots and mushrooms next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
I really enjoyed this recipe,I added salt and 1 head of cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Northern Italian Beef Stew Haiku: "Won't make this again. Too much effort, costs too much. And tasted way 'meh.'" I was surprised that this could smell so outrageously good, and yet the taste was so bland. I followed the recipe exactly w/ the exception of using stew meat (that I'd rolled in s&p & flour b4 searing) and just couldn't get over that the richness (smell, and $$$-wise) of all of those ingredients coming together could result in such a yawn-worthy taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I made this dish dozen times for different family and each one of them love it!!! Made it in a conventional oven, Aga stove, electric stove, they all turn out GREAT!!! either I used cheap beef ribs, top round beef, stewing beef chunks (as long as you trimmed the fat or boil it for a few mins to lessen the fat. thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
This was a great recipe, flavorful and rich. Yes, it takes a bit of time, but well worth it. I cut the recipe in half, and there's enough for 6. Didn't have fresh mushrooms, but a 4 oz. can of mushroom pieces substituted well. Also added 1 1/2 cups fresh green beans, which went well with it. Served with the remaining wine from cooking (a Petite Sirah)...will definitely serve this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I enjoyed but I think traditional beef stew is the way to go for family. Used parsnips instead of carrot & turnip which is so good in a stew. Looking for winter veggies that my family does not quite grasp the "seasonal" thing but I'll keep trying! Great starting point!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Made this recipe with just a few subs. Did not use mushrooms as I was out! Subbed one can of diced tomatoes and it worked great! Loved the stew and would definitely make it again. Wife said to increase the amounts of seasoning and I would agree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Made this up as posted - wonderful beef stew. It's a bit of work to get the prep done but the results are well worth the effort. I may have cut the beef and potatoes a bit smaller than 1 inch and with the 4 hour cooking time they were more than done, but still intact. I will keep closer to the 1 inch recommendation next time. One tip I saw somewhere that was helpful was to freeze the round steak for 15-30 minutes (not frozen hard) to make cutting it easier and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RetiredGuyCooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: South Lebanon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States