North Italian Meat Sauce (Ragu Bolognese) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Just made this and added one chili for zing, and used pancetta instead of ham....awesome! Tastes similar to what my Nona used to make when I was a kid. This is very traditional to the Tuscan region where my family is from. Thanks for the recipe. Note. If you add a little more meat and grind it all up you can also place it on top of fried crostini's and put the mixture top ...then top it off with a caper. Dee elvish. We had that to start the meals off as an appetizers before Christmas and Easter dinner celebrations. (Probably best to add extra 'innards' for the pate dish).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
I liked this, I wasn't in love with it though. I make my own bolognese but I wanted to see what someone elses tasted like and this got good reviews. First off I did not use the chicken livers, nor will I ever as I don't like them. Secondly I couldn't resist not using garlic, I added garlic powder to the meat while cooking. I used deli prosciutto and added alittle pepperoni. What I liked was the creaminess of this sauce and celery and wine, and nutmeg, my sauce has none of those things. What I think I may do is incorporate those into my sauce, but this is a good weeknight meal that dosen't require an entire day of cooking. I prep in the morning and my hubby finishes off the cooking at night since we have different schedules.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Recipes for Bolognese sauce abound - they are as abundant and as varied as there are Italian cooks. Outside of a few fundamentals, there is no real right or wrong. First and foremost, it is a meat sauce, not a tomato sauce. It typically includes a soffrito (carrots, onions and celery) ground beef, veal, and pork (or some combination), white wine and/or beef or chicken stock , a small amount of tomato paste and whole milk. All variations will include long, slow cooking to develop full-bodied flavor - I simmered mine a good three hours. This recipe is a good one, albeit slightly different with its inclusion of ham, chicken livers and nutmeg (certainly a nice touch, but not necessary), all of which I omitted only because I preferred to. I did add garlic. I used half beef and half pork, but would have used veal and pork had my butcher had veal available. I also used the more traditional whole milk rather than heavy cream, adding it along with the tomato paste once the vegetables and meat were cooked, then simmering it slowly until most was absorbed before adding the wine and broth and letting it cook down again. This recipe is as good and as authentic and reliable as any I've come across and leaves room for personal adaptation and tastes. Having had pasta Bolognese twice just recently in Rome, Italy as well as at a fine Northern Italian restaurant in Naples, FL just a few nights ago, Hubs and I agree what we ate tonight was better than all of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
I like it and it almost reflect to the recipe my mother (from north Italy) has teach us. What we don't use is the ham, liver and cream. All the remaining ingredients are OK and I cook the sauce for at least 3 to 4 hours. This is the ragu' or so called spaghetti bolognese we serve in or restaurant and this sauce is also the meat sauce of our lasagna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
I love this stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clemintine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: White Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Excellent Recipe! Only changes were pancetta for ham and added small pignoli nuts (just very lightly toasted) and just half can of San Marzano's. Also omitted the liver. I love liver but not in a Ragu Bolognese. Excellent sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Great recipe! Like other reviewers, I subbed 6 pieces of cut-up bacon for the ham (perfect amount for a half recipe), mild Italian sausage for the pork and left out the chicken livers. I increased the amount of beef and sausage to make up for this and sauteed the mirepoix in bacon fat instead of butter. I also didn't use any olive oil when cooking the beef & sausage. My husband loved it, which makes it a winner in my book! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
Really great recipe! Sauted the onion, carrots, and celery in 4T of butter (didn't have ham). In a large pan, browned 1 pkg of jimmy dean sausage and 1lb beef. Boiled the wine, then added the veggies. Used 2 1/4 c. Chicken broth (that's what I had) and a whole can of tomato paste (6oz). Omitted chicken liver portion of recipe. Added whipping cream. Used quite a bit more Nutmeg....this makes the recipe! About 1/4-1/2 tsp. Salt and pepper to taste.....EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Yokosuka, Kanagawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I used the chicken livers and thought it gave an extra depth. When the sauce was simmering it looked like it could use a little more liquid so I threw in some red wine. I thought it made it even more delicious. I also wanted it a little thicker so I also added a little cornstarch. Finished product is yummy. If the cream is too fattening/heavy for you, it's tasty even without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
This is a delicious sauce! I didn't have pork and opted out of the chicken livers. I used 1 lb. of ground beef. I added more tomatoe paste because I wanted more tomato flavor. I made this with the Gnocchi I recipe from this site and the family gave rave reviews. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Bolognese Sauce

A thick, chunky pasta sauce with beef, pork, veggies, and tons of flavor.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States