North Italian Meat Sauce (Ragu Bolognese) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I used the chicken livers and thought it gave an extra depth. When the sauce was simmering it looked like it could use a little more liquid so I threw in some red wine. I thought it made it even more delicious. I also wanted it a little thicker so I also added a little cornstarch. Finished product is yummy. If the cream is too fattening/heavy for you, it's tasty even without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Fain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
This is a delicious sauce! I didn't have pork and opted out of the chicken livers. I used 1 lb. of ground beef. I added more tomatoe paste because I wanted more tomato flavor. I made this with the Gnocchi I recipe from this site and the family gave rave reviews. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Poway, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
I used this recipe as a outline for the bolognese sauce and it came out FANTASTIC! I did not use the chicken livers or the beef stock. I did use a beef,pork and veal mixture that the sell in the grocery store instead of just ground beef. I used 2 8oz cans of tomato sauce and one can of tomato paste. It had great flavor. I used bacon instead of ham as well. My husband said I can make this once a week he loved it. I used Cavatelli as the pasta and it was a delicious meal!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniela Delgado

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
Great tasting sauce! I left out the chicken livers so I increased the amount of ground beef and ground pork to make up for it. I used a whole small can of tomato paste. The longer this simmers, the better and adding the cream and nutmeg at the end really does make a difference. I served it over linguine and boy was it delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
Soooo delicious! Served on top of homemade pasta with garlic bread and salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paterson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Clifton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Very yummy, very meaty, great leftovers. Don't expect it to be saucy - my husband wanted more red sauce. It went very well with whole wheat spaghetti and a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Very good recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Holy this is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
This was delicious! My boyfriend who is actually from Northern Italy loved it. I did a few things different to suit our taste but overall followed the recipe. I used ground turkey and did not have liver or cream. I was afraid it might be too dry so I added 2/3 cup of homemade tomato sauce instead of tomato paste. Sooo yummy!Thank you for sharing the recipe~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Feifei

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Bolognese Sauce

A thick, chunky pasta sauce with beef, pork, veggies, and tons of flavor.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States