North German Gruenkohl (Kale) and Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by yrulivn
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Added whole onion and a large baked potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chickentender
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Excellent dish. Turned out just plain warm and delicious. I used some real beef stock instead of bouillon cubes and just a bit of water to cover. I also removed the sausage near the end and browned them a bit in another skillet, returned them, then deglazed the that pan using a couple ladels of the simmering broth and added that back in as well. I used no ham but 6 slices of very thick bacon. Scrumptious and hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chickentender

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
Logically, I made a few changes which make this basic recipe simplier. After boiling the kale and adding it to the bacon and onion mixture and seasoning it, it was ready to eat. Adding any wurst or sausage would have taken any "body" away from the kale. The grated nutmeg added the perfect finish to a great dish. I may serve it over or mix with boiled potatoes to create a great Dutch dish, Boerekohl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
I was just looking for an interesting recipe to try cooking kale for the first time and came across this one - glad I tried it! As a couple of other people suggested I used a whole sweet onion and a few cloves of garlic. (Garlic always makes it better!) I didn't have ham on hand, but followed the rest pretty closely. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morris, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
Hi I am soooo happy to find this recipe but I am born in the Ammerland in germany which is ground zero for gruehnkohl.The basic recipe is ok. But first at all use smoked pork belly instead of cooked ham and please please NO kielbasa.Instead check if you can find a german butcher who can provide you with PINKEL WURST.Thats the stuff that has to go in there.Next you can use Nutmeg but allspice is better and more onion ( 3 - 4 )and you have to cook it for hours.The longer the better.( 2 - 3 hours)Last but not least you can use kale out of the can or glass as long as it is unseasoned.Thats it.Enjoy your Gruehnkohl
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I didn't have any onions or beef bouillon and didn't want to run to the store, so sub'd some beef onion soup mix. It turned out great. I also only used kielbasa, but other than that followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I've used this recipe three times because I loved it so much. Last time I accidentally bought mustard greens instead of kale but it tasted every bit as delicious! Fantastic, and delicious with the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynJudd
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
I was surprised that someone rated this one star, but then saw the great write up on it and realized there was a mistake. This really is very good and close to what is made in Germany. My mother in-law is German and makes it all the time. I just figured out how to do it with readily available US ingredients. Can't wait for the cold winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynJudd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
I love German dishes and this one has great flavor! I used just local kielbasa sausage instead of bacon, ham & kielbasa - our local farmer's market kielbasa is the best around and packs more then enough flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
I don't eat pork so I swapped out the bacon for turkey bacon (6 strips) but I added some olive oil to replace the bacon fat, I omitted the ham and used chicken sausage. Results? Amazing!!! If you want to mix things up this is a fun way to alter the original recipe (and possible make it healthier)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Kale Soup

Spicy sausage and hot peppers star in this hearty vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States