North Carolina-Style Pulled Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2001
Takes a while to prepare, butt(pardon the pun), when the labor of love is over this is to die for. There is a problem though, the recipe says to cook (a)pork butt, not enough this order needs to be doubled or tripled just to last to the next morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2001
We served this at a World Series Party here in Arizona where everyone likes their food a bit spicy. All the adults raved about the pulled pork. For smaller children we served the pork with either a Sweet Barbeque Sauce or plain. This was great for a big crowd and can be done a little ahead of time leaving plenty of time for the host to relax. This is a winner in our book as well as our neighbors!!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2002
This is a wonderful recipe! We really enjoyed it, although we all felt there was too much of a vinegar taste. Next time I'll cut back on it, and there WILL be a next time!! We added plain BBQ sauce to the sandwiches just before we ate and it really let the flavor of the meat shine through. Incredibly tender, too. The smoking hickory chips really added a nice taste, not to mention the smell, which filled my whole block with an aroma that had my neighbors walking around sniffing at the air. Thanks for another "keeper"!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2002
North Carolinaaaaaa love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYPD K9 COP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2002
Awesome pulled pork sandwiches! Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2002
To much of a vinegar taste. not bad but would not make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
this is a fantastic recipe. The vinegar sauce is not what I expected but it was phenomenal. I used cayenne pepper instead of red pepper flakes. I actually just picked up a 20lb pork loin and will be using that to make this recipe this weekend for a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GUZIEWICZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2002
I lived in North Carolina for a few years and this is very similar to authentic Carolina barbeque. If your don't like the vinegary taste of Carolina barbeque only use half and substitue store bought barbeque sauce for the ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
We love North Carolina barbeque and have been looking for a recipe for a long time. This is a good one. I did make some changes though, as I was cooking it in the oven. Before I used the rub I stabbed the pork to make some slits in the meat. Then I put a tablespoon of liquid smoke on top and bottom of the meat. Then I used the rub. I wrapped the pork in heavy foil and put it in the refrig all day. Before I went to bed I preheated the oven to 350 degrees. Then I put the foil-wrapped pork in a pan in the oven overnight. By seven the next morning it was smelling wonderful and the meat was falling off the bone. I let it sit for about an hour and then shredded the meat. The fat just fell away leaving all that wonderful pork. As for the sauce, I thought it had a very strong vinegar flavor, so I added more brown sugar (a 1/4 cup at a time) until it tasted as I thought it should. Totally, I put in 1-1/4 cups of brown sugar. I also heated the sauce on the stove top until the sugar disolved. I also added 2 tablespoons of liquid smoke to the sauce. Then I mixed the pork into the sauce and let the whole thing simmer for about a half hour. Wonderful flavor. Tasted just like what we remembered from Lexington.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
179 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2003
I made this for my son's 1st birthday party this weekend. The pork chilled overnight with the rub, cooked it in my Nesco roaster for 24 hrs on low. Simply delicious! EVERYONE complemented me on the BBQ. Minor changes I made: cut back to 1 1/2 cup cider vinegar, bump up to 1/2 cup brown sugar, cut back to 2 tsp crushed red pepper flakes, omitted the white pepper because I don't have it. This delicious meal cost me way under $5.00 to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Not BCrocker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Chef John's Pulled Pork BBQ

Turn pork shoulder into delicious shredded BBQ pork for sandwiches.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States