North Carolina-Style Pulled Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
This requires a bit of work, but very much worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Morgan, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
Everyone raved at our 4th july party. I brined it overnight
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CUTIEARMYWIFE23

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northport, New York, USA
Living In: Sewickley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
To be fair, I cooked my pork shoulder the night before to make burritos, but I used the sauce, and it was fantastic. I threw the rest of the shredded pork shoulder into a skillet with the sauce and let everything simmer for a while. Delicious on a bun with coleslaw. Reminded me of my childhood. I highly recommend the sauce, but I will admit that I didn't try the rest of the recipe. The sauce is so flavorful that it will probably overwhelm anything you do to the meat before you add it to the sauce. This sauce is pretty vinegar-y, so beware if your idea of pulled pork involves anything approaching BBQ sauce. This is definitely NC-style and goes best with a healthy heap of coleslaw on the sandwich. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
Fantastic recipe. I did alter it (cutting the vingar in half, adding more brown sugar) but not enough to change the flavor. This is sinfully easy to make. I used a very cheap roast, and you'd never know. I've eaten it for two meals a day for the last two days; it's that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ICHARUS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
WOWWZA!!! This is a great recipe. I paired it with Mom's cloleslaw from this site and OMG this was one tasty treat. The kids and hubby raved about it! Get a nice soft bun and layer pork, coleslaw then some homeade french fries and you have one woppin sandwich that everybody cant get enough of!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBYLN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
mmmm perfect for a Memorial Day Cookout
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
Ok, my Momma is from No. Carolina and I lived there for awhile and this is the BEST carolina cue I've tasted. Made it as stated and the sauce was just sweet, hot, and vinegary enough. You gotta love this style cue or just make the pork shoulder with the rub and use the sauce of your choice. SLAMMIN' GOOD! Thank you for the recipe. Oh, I eat it with slaw on a potato roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
My husband cooked the pork as directed but cooked it on a Big Green Egg. It tasted SO good. Perfect!! THEN he made the sauce and all we could taste was the vinegar. The tasty pork was no longer even detected, it was just vinegar. Loved the Pork rub and recipe, for our tastes, we just need a sauce that doesn't over power the taste of the pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
Very yummy just like the bbq place in our town! thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
This was excellent - the only thing I would change was to add more kick - I prefer it spicier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by George Gamber

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Chef John's Pulled Pork BBQ

Turn pork shoulder into delicious shredded BBQ pork for sandwiches.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States