North Carolina-Style Pulled Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
After living in NC for years, it occurred to me that my family had never made home made Carolina pork BBQ. I rubbed our pork roast in normal yellow mustard and then added the rub and let it do its thing in the crock pot for several hours. I made this for a family dinner and it was an incredible success. Everyone loved it so much that they made claims to who got to take the leftovers for lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
It's spicy and tangy wrapped in one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
I made this for Labor Day and what a hit! I used pork shoulder and, gathering bits and pieces from other reviewers, I put it in a roasting pan, rubbed the seasonings all over it and cooked it on 290 degrees overnight. The meat was falling off the bone by morning and the house smelled awesome! Wish I could try the smoking method but couldn't this year. I forgot to add the liquid smoke and didn't change the amounts on the liquid ingredients. My entire extended family loved it. We all agree that this is so much tastier than the sweet bbq pulled pork I usually make, in fact, that version seems sickly by comparison. I also made Mom's Coleslaw from this site and put it right on the pork sandwich as I read from other reviewers. AMAZING! If you haven't tried it like that, please do, it's beyond yummy! Thank you for this recipe, I will be a staple in my own collection now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmington, New York, USA
Living In: Canandaigua, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
***** (5 extra stars!) This was the best pork BBQ I've had!! I tried it out on an experienced group of food testers (my family!) and they ALL agreed that this was wonderful! (ok, my 11 yr old son said it was "THE BOMB!!!"). I used a 4-5 lb. boneless pork roast (it was on sale!) and marinated it in the rub (I also added liquid smoke) for about a day and a half. I then put it in the crockpot with about 1/2 cup of water & let it cook for 10 hrs. It just fell apart and was so delicious! For the sauce--I also cut down on the vinegar to 1 cup and used the watery drippings in the bottom of the crock pot for the water that is required. I also added a few squirts of liquid smoke. I will be stocking up on pork roasts to make this more often!!!!! GREAT RECIPE-Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tunkhannock, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
This requires a bit of work, but very much worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Morgan, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
Everyone raved at our 4th july party. I brined it overnight
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CUTIEARMYWIFE23

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northport, New York, USA
Living In: Sewickley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
To be fair, I cooked my pork shoulder the night before to make burritos, but I used the sauce, and it was fantastic. I threw the rest of the shredded pork shoulder into a skillet with the sauce and let everything simmer for a while. Delicious on a bun with coleslaw. Reminded me of my childhood. I highly recommend the sauce, but I will admit that I didn't try the rest of the recipe. The sauce is so flavorful that it will probably overwhelm anything you do to the meat before you add it to the sauce. This sauce is pretty vinegar-y, so beware if your idea of pulled pork involves anything approaching BBQ sauce. This is definitely NC-style and goes best with a healthy heap of coleslaw on the sandwich. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
Fantastic recipe. I did alter it (cutting the vingar in half, adding more brown sugar) but not enough to change the flavor. This is sinfully easy to make. I used a very cheap roast, and you'd never know. I've eaten it for two meals a day for the last two days; it's that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ICHARUS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
WOWWZA!!! This is a great recipe. I paired it with Mom's cloleslaw from this site and OMG this was one tasty treat. The kids and hubby raved about it! Get a nice soft bun and layer pork, coleslaw then some homeade french fries and you have one woppin sandwich that everybody cant get enough of!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBYLN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
mmmm perfect for a Memorial Day Cookout
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Chef John's Pulled Pork BBQ

Turn pork shoulder into delicious shredded BBQ pork for sandwiches.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States