North Carolina-Style Pulled Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
I used a 9lb pork shoulder roast. I didn't marinate overnight, instead I used the exact ingredients and rubbed the pork just before cooking. I cooked on grill with hickory wood chips for smoke flavor. I placed on upper level and cooked for 1 1\2 hrs with low fire. Then I wrapped in foil (double layers) tightly. I placed on upper level of grill again and cooked for 6 hrs on low. It came out wonderful and the whole neighborhood smelled wonderful. My disappointment was with the sauce. I did as other reviewers have stated and cut vinegar in half, using 1 cup. Still it had a very strong vinegar flavor. I have 5 people in family. Three liked it, two did not. That is why the 3 stars. I will use recipe again for the rub mixture, but will try different recipe for sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
This is by far the best pulled pork that we have ever tried. I cooked mine in the crock pot on low for 6 hours (didn't have any charcoal). Then shredded the meat and put back in the pot on low for a couple hours with the sauce. I would like to try it on the grill next time. Very moist and delicious. Wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
This was really good! I wish that I had a smoker to smoke it in but for home cooked bbq it was good! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
This is FANTASTIC!!!I've spent years perfecting a sweet bbq sauce and grew up on vinegar based.I skoke my pork butts for 12-14 hrs at 230 degrees until internal temp. reaches 185 degrees.take pork off and let cool enough to pull.I boil sauce with only 2 teas. red pepper and add a 1 tbl butter and a squirt of lemon juice.,(I think it's too spicy for the kids otherwise and boiling really blends the flavors).After sauce boils and pork is pulled I coat the pork with the sauce.This is now a must have when we have a family get together.Thank You for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cornfed77

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
Not a fan of this type of barbeque. Decided to try it based on all the high ratings but was disappointed in the results. The vinegar was very overpowering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
This is awesome cooked in the crock pot. I make it for family when they come over, and everyone raves about it. I just cook the pork in the crock pot with the wet ingredients, and it is absolutely delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Knapp Costa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newtown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
After living in NC for years, it occurred to me that my family had never made home made Carolina pork BBQ. I rubbed our pork roast in normal yellow mustard and then added the rub and let it do its thing in the crock pot for several hours. I made this for a family dinner and it was an incredible success. Everyone loved it so much that they made claims to who got to take the leftovers for lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
It's spicy and tangy wrapped in one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
I made this for Labor Day and what a hit! I used pork shoulder and, gathering bits and pieces from other reviewers, I put it in a roasting pan, rubbed the seasonings all over it and cooked it on 290 degrees overnight. The meat was falling off the bone by morning and the house smelled awesome! Wish I could try the smoking method but couldn't this year. I forgot to add the liquid smoke and didn't change the amounts on the liquid ingredients. My entire extended family loved it. We all agree that this is so much tastier than the sweet bbq pulled pork I usually make, in fact, that version seems sickly by comparison. I also made Mom's Coleslaw from this site and put it right on the pork sandwich as I read from other reviewers. AMAZING! If you haven't tried it like that, please do, it's beyond yummy! Thank you for this recipe, I will be a staple in my own collection now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmington, New York, USA
Living In: Canandaigua, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
***** (5 extra stars!) This was the best pork BBQ I've had!! I tried it out on an experienced group of food testers (my family!) and they ALL agreed that this was wonderful! (ok, my 11 yr old son said it was "THE BOMB!!!"). I used a 4-5 lb. boneless pork roast (it was on sale!) and marinated it in the rub (I also added liquid smoke) for about a day and a half. I then put it in the crockpot with about 1/2 cup of water & let it cook for 10 hrs. It just fell apart and was so delicious! For the sauce--I also cut down on the vinegar to 1 cup and used the watery drippings in the bottom of the crock pot for the water that is required. I also added a few squirts of liquid smoke. I will be stocking up on pork roasts to make this more often!!!!! GREAT RECIPE-Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tunkhannock, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Chef John's Pulled Pork BBQ

Turn pork shoulder into delicious shredded BBQ pork for sandwiches.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States