North Carolina-Style Pulled Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
My favorite pulled pork recipe! Love it and so does the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
I made in the crock pot with some leftover pork flaps from ribs we had in the freezer. I really loved the sauce, so tangy. The hubs said he will try this on the smoker very soon...I can't wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
It's a winner. Love the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBINBRADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Meridian, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I am from North Carolina. I love pulled pork and I grew up eating it. When I saw this recipe I could not believe this is the same recipe that I grew up on. I did not cook mine on the grill. I do love the flavor of hickory wood in the pulled pork. I cooked half of pork loin in my crock pot using this sauce. I also added 2 tablespoons liquid smoke. I cut back on the salt (just a preference) and it turned out very good. Thank you Doug for sharing this recipe. Reminds me of home (my parents)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsboro, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Love this sauce! I add liquid smoke (2 T), 1/2 the red pepper, and double the brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Very easy to make and very flavorsome. Entire family gave a thumbs up and so did the ladies in the office.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
WOW. Unfortunately I have a cheap gas grill that just won't do for the full cook time - but after reading some reviews I did start it (4.5 lb pork shoulder) on the grill for 2 hours with soaked wood chips - then finished in oven (@ 250). I also rubbed a pecan liquid smoke all over b4 the dry rub. Moved pork (wrapped in foil in roasting pan) to preheated oven. I drizzled 1/4 C of sauce on prior to slow baking for another 4 - 5 hours. After it cooled, man Oh man...it was sooooo juicy, tender and falling apart. I pulled pork into strips, sprinkled on a bit more liquid smoke, some salt and 1/3 C of sauce b4 storing in fridge until dinner next day. As for the sauce (1/2 recipe)...I used 1/2C A/C vinegar, 1/2C water, 1/4C brn sugar & ketchup, 1 T worcester, 1 tsp dry mustard and 1 T butter. Reduced salt & red pepper flakes. Warmed with 1/2 an 18oz bottle of Open Pit CharGrill flavor BBQ sauce . DA BOMB! Still a thin vinegary sauce with a bite to it. I love white pepper, if you don't have it...get some! I strain warm sauce to put in squirt bottle for people to add to their liking. I reheated the pork (covered) @300 for about an hour before serving. Just fabulous and you can easily add/change a few things around depending on what you have or how you prefer things! All I heard was mmmmMMMMnnnMMMM while everyone enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
I am from North Carolina, and never have I tasted this sauce in north Carolina. It surely has nothing to do with the eastern half of the state. If you want search for something like "Eastern North Carolina Pulled Pork Barbecue" yes it is tangy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark Farmer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marmora, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
This was awesome! Kids loved it. Everyone did. Even better as leftovers the next day. I used half the recipe with a 4 lb roast. I did as others suggested and used liquid smoke in the sauce and all over the roast before I rubbed it down. I cooked it in the oven in a cast iron dutch oven with lid for 3 hours at 300-325. It was moist and juicy. Since I made half the size roast I made half the sauce, but it does soak it up so, if you want more sauce, make the whole recipe or double according to size roast. I made it a little too spicy this time, will use less heat next time. Didn't have spicy paprika so I used a little cayenne pepper. I found a vinegary coleslaw recipe to top the sandwiches with, and it was perfect. Very authentic. This will be a regular in our home
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by okiedoll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Easy and fantastic flavor. But I used beer instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry L Fraser

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tomahawk, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Chef John's Pulled Pork BBQ

Turn pork shoulder into delicious shredded BBQ pork for sandwiches.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States