North Carolina-Style Pulled Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Awesome recipe. I put the rub on the roast (7.5 lb pork butt) and refrigerated it over night. I followed the rub recipe but added some dill weed (one of my favorite spices), cut down on the salt, and used dark brown sugar since I didn't have any light brown. Don't have a smoker so I used some oak bisquettes on my gas grill and grilled it for 2 hours on medium / medium-low heat which got the outside looking really nice (used a drip pan). For the sauce I used the amount of cider vinegar the recipe called for, chicken broth instead of water (I hate using water), ran out of ketchup (of all things) so I added some chili sauce, used a whole cup of brown sugar (per other reviews), cut down on the salt, a little liquid smoke, and threw in some pickle juice (bread & butter chip kind) for the hell of it (used all other ingredients listed as well). I also chopped up a whole onion. Threw everything in a slow cooker for about 6 hours on low heat, turned the roast a couple times during, and it turned out awesome. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Among the top 5 meals I've ever made. I'm also a barbecue hound, & this tasted better than anything I've ever had in NC. I went to college in NC, & we ate all kinds of Q, including smoking whole pigs ourselves (I wasn't the cook!). Marinated overnight as directed. I used a Smokey Joe Weber charcoal grill, and two kinds of Kingsford charcoal. Kingsford sells hickory charcoal that gets added to normal coals. I custom-made a charcoal box using a toaster oven pan, and drilling holes in the bottom for airflow. This allowed for the proper indirect heating set up. I placed a smoker box next to the charcoal box, so the two were touching, and filled it with hickory chips. Chunks are better but I couldn't find any. I did not soak them because that makes steam, not smoke. Once it was hot, meat on. I flipped and rotated the two 5 pound pork shoulders every hour, and stoked the fire three times with more charcoal (hickory charcoal each time). I also added a few hickory chips directly into the hot coals. Every thirty minutes, I blew on the coals to keep them going and kept the vents open most of the time. I monitored the temp using an iGrill. After 5 hours the internal temp had stopped at 158. Ideal Q temp is 195-203. Yes 203. I moved the meat directly over the coals for the last 90 minutes. The meat was unbelievably tender and shredded easily. I used half the vinegar but all of everything else in the sauce. Perfect. 14 adults finished all of it and raved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Heyse

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
This was so excellent! I made it in the slow cooker-made the rub and then just used the other ingredients as a sauce for the meat to simmer in. I reduced the vinegar to 1/2 a cup, but otherwise stayed true to the recipe. We loved it, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
This was The BEST pulled pork recipe I have tried from AR. My only deviation from the original recipe was to use the crock pot and add some liquid smoke. Yummy, yummy, yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mema

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Glens Falls, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
So good! Cooked it in my pressure cooker for about an hour and a half with the sauce. Turned out way better than expected. I didn't have onion power or celery seeds, so I just finely minced an onion and a stick of celery and threw it in the pot with the meat. When the meat was done, I took it out, strained the sauce, shredded the meat, and put it back in the pot with the strained sauce. Wow! Even my kids loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jaana Smith Bauman
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
The pork was awesome! Loved it... glad we did since it took a lot of work! The sauce... could have ruined it. I was able to doctor it to our liking. WAY too much vinegar. Plus it was VERY thin. (Even after I doctored it) After my adjustments.. I'd give the pork itself a 5, the sauce a 4. Before my adjustment.. I would give the sauce a 1 or 2. Hence the 3 rating. We will use the smoked pork idea again though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaana Smith Bauman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2013
Very Tasty!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Artisha Pacheco

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
I made this for my wedding, 80lbs of pork. It took me three day to cook, but well worth the time and aggervation my soon to be wife gave me. Everyone loved it! Even my wife said she was glad I took the time to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
The rub was adequate but I used smoked paprika instead of hot paprika and added tbs cayenne pepper for heat. Next time I will use more salt as well. Left butt in refrigerator overnight then put in oven at 350 for 6 1/2 hours. I read other comments and agree with many regarding the cider vinegar.I increased the brown sugar (dark) to 1 cup and added 1/4 cup molasses as well as a good splash of hickory smoke flavor not as good as smoked but I had a Grandsons birthday to attend. After removing the pork butt from the Dutch oven I poured off most of fat and made sauce as pork rested. Heated sauce in the Dutch oven making sure to get the fondant. After shredding the pork mixed into the sauce and ate on buns toasted with butter. EXCELLENT is the only word and the flavor improved as the sauce sat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
We moved to TX from NC and have been craving NC pulled pork. I cooked my boneless whole pork loin in the crock pot all day, skimmed the fat and shredded it and poured this sauce on and it hit the spot. Almost as good as being back in NC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Chef John's Pulled Pork BBQ

Turn pork shoulder into delicious shredded BBQ pork for sandwiches.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States