North Carolina-Style Pulled Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
Okay, I'm a born and raised NC girl. I've been away for 4 years and crave BBQ daily. I decided to make this to see what I got. I used 4 pounds of pork shoulder, boneless, so I halved the recipe. I did the rub exactly as is and marinated it overnight. The next morning, I made up the sauce exactly as written, halved for the amount of pork. After tasting it, I decided it needed more brown sugar so I added 2 more tablespoons. I put half of the sauce and the pork in my slow cooker and cooked it for 8 hours. I then took the pork out, let it cool and then shredded it. (It was already falling apart.) I used a large spoon to take all of the fatty oil off of the good bits in the bottom of the slow cooker, and then I added the rest of the sauce, in addition with about 1/4 cup more brown sugar. I then put the pork back in. That is EXACTLY what I grew up eating, and my husband, a NC boy, completely agrees! I am so happy, I can't begin to tell you!!! Thank you SO much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
179 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reidsville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
We love North Carolina barbeque and have been looking for a recipe for a long time. This is a good one. I did make some changes though, as I was cooking it in the oven. Before I used the rub I stabbed the pork to make some slits in the meat. Then I put a tablespoon of liquid smoke on top and bottom of the meat. Then I used the rub. I wrapped the pork in heavy foil and put it in the refrig all day. Before I went to bed I preheated the oven to 350 degrees. Then I put the foil-wrapped pork in a pan in the oven overnight. By seven the next morning it was smelling wonderful and the meat was falling off the bone. I let it sit for about an hour and then shredded the meat. The fat just fell away leaving all that wonderful pork. As for the sauce, I thought it had a very strong vinegar flavor, so I added more brown sugar (a 1/4 cup at a time) until it tasted as I thought it should. Totally, I put in 1-1/4 cups of brown sugar. I also heated the sauce on the stove top until the sugar disolved. I also added 2 tablespoons of liquid smoke to the sauce. Then I mixed the pork into the sauce and let the whole thing simmer for about a half hour. Wonderful flavor. Tasted just like what we remembered from Lexington.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
176 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
This is the 3rd time I've made this and my family loves it. I decided to cook the pork in a crockpot. I added 2 T. of salt and 2 T. of Liquid Smoke and cooked it on High for 8 hours. I then made the existing sauce recipe. With a 5-1/2 lb. pork butt using a single recipe, the meat soaked up all the sauce. Next time I will double the sauce. I omitted the salt since I put it on the meat before cooking. I also reduced the red pepper to 2 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corning, New York, USA
Living In: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
I cooked this in the crockpot on low, overnight, with the addition of some liquid smoke. It was so easy to make a just wonderful. I'll never use another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
PLEASE READ THIS AND CHECK OUT ADLEVINE's 2003 REVIEW...I've been making this for almost two years and thanks to ADLEVINE (a reviewer in 1/2003), it was a hit from the beginning! I omit the liquid smoke, hot paprika and white pepper, and cook all day (6-7 hours)in the oven at 325 COVERED WITH TIN FOIL. Simmer for about an hour in the sauce. Also, I'm too lazy to "rub the butt" the night before, so I just do it right before I put it in the oven. Believe me, even with these lazy changes, I can call my friends at work while the ham is in the oven (I'm a homemaker) and they'll come running to my house when they get out! They even pick up the rolls themselves! Reheats awesome; even brought a baggie full on a river trip and ate it cold - a great snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachelguerrero1740

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Islip Terrace, New York, USA
Living In: Central Islip, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
This recipe is identical to the one found in 'The Barbecue Bible' by Steven Raichlen (Workman Press). I smoke a 5.5lb Boston butt in a offset horizontal smoker (Chargriller with side fire box) an hour per pound at 300 degrees with a mix of hickory and cherry chips until internal temp of 195. Contrary to other comments it does NOT turn into jerky at this temp if done correctly using a smoker. In an oven it may dry out at this temp. Some tips- instead of 2 cups of vinegar, start with one and adjust to taste; also Raichlen includes a recipe for Carolina Cole Slaw to use as a side. Finely shred a head of cabbage with a mandolin and coat with ~1 cup of vinegar sauce. Mound the pork on a grilled hamburger bun, top with slaw, and enjoy. Simply delicious- but no amount of liquid smoke will replicate the results of a bona fide charcoal smoker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2005
Unfortunately, I didn't read the reviews before I made this and used the full 2 cups of vinegar, which pretty much ruined a good thing. I love vinegar, but this was way too much in my opinion. But the meat was very tender and very tasty right after it was done cooking in the spices. I will make this again, but will try cutting the vinegar in half (at least) and adding more ketchup and brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
This was good. I was really looking for an Eastern NC style barbeque and it is almost there. I did as others suggested by decreasing the vinegar and adding more brown sugar, but I wish I had not. I found the meat more sweet than what I wanted and without the zing of the vingear.I also added liquid smoke to the roast before cooking since I was not smoking it. I cooked mine for 8hrs on low in the crock pot with 1/2 the sauce + and then pulled the meat out to cool. I drained the sauce which has a good amount of oil from the fat. After, shredding the meat- it most fell right off the bone, I put the meat back in the crock pot and pour the remaining sauce over. I will definitely make again, but will add more than 1 cup of vinegar as so many reviewers mentioned. I think it really depends on how sweet you like barbeque. I am giving the recipe 5 stars because I think if I had followed the recipe, it would have been closer to what I wanted :) Thanks! It was so moist and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JillyBean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seaford, Delaware, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
This was great. I used a 3 pound roast. Cooked it in the oven covered on 290 for 6 hours. It was very tender and juicy. We didn't even make the sauce. We just dipped our bread in the meat juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Riverton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
We lived in Suffolk, VA when my husband was in the Navy and pulled pork sandwiches with cole slaw were everywhere. Back here in Pa - they have no clue what BBQ pork is. Found this recipie and made it for our VFW (using 4 six pound rump roasts) and everyone raved. This is the only recipe you will ever need for pulled pork. Don't forget to top your sandwich with good coleslaw - you'll never want it any other way. UPDATE: just finished making this again using leftover pork roast and the sauce is amazing! Upset that some reviewers cut vinegar/pepper flakes and others added bottled sauce. This is true Southern pulled pork and it is perfect. If you want BBQ pork with a thick sauce (like BBQ ham sandwiches) like they serve up north this is not the recipe for you. Please don't rate it badly simply because you are not familiar with Southern pulled pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Industry, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Chef John's Pulled Pork BBQ

Turn pork shoulder into delicious shredded BBQ pork for sandwiches.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States