North Carolina BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
My husband used to hate BBQ until he tried this! We love the recipe! First, I cooked pork in slow cooker. Scaled back the # of servings of BBQ sauce to 4 and that made @ 1.25 cups. I substituted fresh lemon thyme for lemon juice- worked great. I used less cayenne and substituted hot sauce and red pepper flakes to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Tangy with lots of heat...perfect for pulled pork topped with cole slaw :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
I loved this although it is way too spicy for my husband. Next time I will make 2 batches - one for me per the recipe and one for him with the spices adjusted. Thank you for posting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
A very good and easy recipe. Delicious, with one point off for the heat. I could only drizzle a tiny bit on my pork or my lips would burn. I love spicy foods and make a homemade ramen soup that'll give you palpitations, but this was INTENSE! I'll absolutely make it again, but I'll cut way down on the cayenne next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
I really liked this recipe. The only thing I did differently, was I halved the amount of cayenne and black pepper it called for and added 2/3 cup of brown sugar (made the recipe based on 10 servings). I slow cooked a 5lb. pork butt roast, added the sauce it was delicious. Next time I make this sauce I'll use 3/4 of the cayenne and pepper it calls for. I like it hot!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by claudiamagdalena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
This sauce was not nearly as potent on the meat as it was when I tested it by itself before I served it. My kids gobbled it up, they loved it, although I did reduce the cayenne pepper a bit. My favorite part was the way it made the pork chops taste less "porky". =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Bushka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
A wonderful reminder of BBQ from home in NC. Thanks for reminding me what BBQ is supposed to taste like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Full of flavor and a cinch to make! Definitely on the spicy side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CFlott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
Best barbecue there is
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawn Ray Stanley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

Korean Fried Chicken Sauce

See how to make a spicy, sweet-and-sour sauce for Korean fried chicken.

Arrabbiata Sauce

See how to make a spicy Italian tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States