North Carolina BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
Best barbecue there is
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawn Ray Stanley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Full of flavor and a cinch to make! Definitely on the spicy side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CFlott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
A wonderful reminder of BBQ from home in NC. Thanks for reminding me what BBQ is supposed to taste like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
This sauce was not nearly as potent on the meat as it was when I tested it by itself before I served it. My kids gobbled it up, they loved it, although I did reduce the cayenne pepper a bit. My favorite part was the way it made the pork chops taste less "porky". =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Bushka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
I really liked this recipe. The only thing I did differently, was I halved the amount of cayenne and black pepper it called for and added 2/3 cup of brown sugar (made the recipe based on 10 servings). I slow cooked a 5lb. pork butt roast, added the sauce it was delicious. Next time I make this sauce I'll use 3/4 of the cayenne and pepper it calls for. I like it hot!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by claudiamagdalena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
A very good and easy recipe. Delicious, with one point off for the heat. I could only drizzle a tiny bit on my pork or my lips would burn. I love spicy foods and make a homemade ramen soup that'll give you palpitations, but this was INTENSE! I'll absolutely make it again, but I'll cut way down on the cayenne next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
I loved this although it is way too spicy for my husband. Next time I will make 2 batches - one for me per the recipe and one for him with the spices adjusted. Thank you for posting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Tangy with lots of heat...perfect for pulled pork topped with cole slaw :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
My husband used to hate BBQ until he tried this! We love the recipe! First, I cooked pork in slow cooker. Scaled back the # of servings of BBQ sauce to 4 and that made @ 1.25 cups. I substituted fresh lemon thyme for lemon juice- worked great. I used less cayenne and substituted hot sauce and red pepper flakes to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

Korean Fried Chicken Sauce

See how to make a spicy, sweet-and-sour sauce for Korean fried chicken.

Arrabbiata Sauce

See how to make a spicy Italian tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States