Norris' Sesame Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
My mom just made this dish, definitely a keeper. Spaghetti noodles are the way to go. Make sure to let the sauce sit for a least four hours and DONT skip the nuts if possible
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
I'm eating this salad on day two and it is even better than day one. Used spaghetti, 1/4 cup sesame oil, 1 tsp red pepper flakes, threw in a few more peanuts and added 3 cups cubed poached chicken breast, 1 cup snow peas and 1 cup shredded carrots. (Drained the spaghetti on top of the peas and carrots in a colander to blanch them.) Served as a meal in a bowl! This recipes lends itself to all kinds of additions. It also makes a ton! Will cut in half next time I make it - unless I'm feeding an army! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BarefootMama
Reviewed: May 10, 2013
Second review, I made it again this time I had sesame seeds, and they were definitely a nice addition. The first time I used about a half teaspoon of pepper flakes, this time I added a whole teaspoon. That's about where I like it. The biggest change we made, which I think is the perfect balance, is using 1/4 cup sesame oil instead of a half cup. This made room to experience more of the flavor profiles, and other agreed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarefootMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
This salad was fantastic! I followed the recipe exactly, except I added a few squirts of lime juice to give it a bit of extra tang, although it's also perfectly good without it. I went full gourmet and made my own honey roasted peanuts, which I think gave it a sophisticated touch. I think this would also be a great main dish with the addition of tofu or chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heathen Hausfrau

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
This is a great recipe! It's fantastic as it is, but I like my veggies. I used about 3/4 the amount of pasta and added a couple of cups each thinly sliced carrots and small broccoli florets. Add a squeeze of fresh lime juice on top and you have an amazing lunch or dinner! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I've made this many many times for guests and everyone LoVES it! I never use sesame oil or corn oil simply because I don't have it. I use olive oil. I also don't use cilantro because no one likes it. I also add a package of extra firm tofu chopped. Seriously best dish ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweetness14445

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Left out cilantro because we don't like it. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NCSEWLADY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine Scaletti
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2015
This is SO good the way it is. My mom made it for a pot luck I hosted and EVERYONE raved about it so she made it a few more times for parties we had, and again everyone raved. I just recently made it myself for a 4th of July BBQ I went to, and again- loved by all. The only thing I did differently was chop up the peanuts- just a personal preference and use radiatore pasta (to me a pasta salad needs small noodles, not spaghetti- again personal preference) I suggest you make this if you like spice, cilantro and sesame ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Scaletti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Very good! I used spiral pasta b/c I had some in the fridge that needed to be used. I cut back a bit on the cilantro b/c I *like* it, but not enough to put that much in, lol. Great flavor combination, and I LOVED the honey-roasted peanuts! I would totally make this again~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2015
My husband and I loved this; but too spicy. Next time, will cut the red pepper flakes in half. Also, I substituted roasted almonds for the peanuts b/c my nephew has a peanut allergy. This recipe had an addictive quality -- couldn't stop eating, despite the heat. How far in advance can it be made and still taste good or can it be frozen? I have a brunch coming up at the end of a busy weekend. Was hoping to make it on Thursday and serve it on Sunday. Will that work?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sesame Pasta Chicken Salad

A pasta salad with chicken, sesame dressing, and fresh herbs.

Simple Pasta Salad

A quick and easy salad with rotini pasta and vegetables.

Sesame Noodle Salad

Mayonnaise-free pasta salad ideal for picnics and potlucks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States