Nordy Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2003
This is a fantastic bar cookie/brownie! My husband and daughter agree :) It is delicious as is, but I could easily see it without the nuts and marshmallows and it would still be delicious. The only issue I had was when I mixed the egg in after removing the pan from the medium heat - next time I will allow the mixture to cool slightly before adding the egg, because the egg cooked a bit. It didn't affect the end result, but I didn't like having cooked egg in the mixture. When I took the bars out of the oven, they looked very raw in the middle, but I took them out anyway. After about 2 hours they did firm up and were perfect. I personally liked them even more the next day! I can see bringing these to gatherings and bake sales with great success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Lilly Freitas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pflugerville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly. The batter was so thick I worried I did something wrong, but the end product was delicious. Another reviewer mentioned when the time was up the middle didn't look done, but she took them out anyway. I should have followed her advice because I left mine in a few minutes longer and they were slightly over done (but still tasty). Next time I will put foil in the pan and then grease the foil because it was very difficult getting the bars out of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2002
I just made these bars and the whole pan is gone! DELICIOUS! I'm going to make these again tomorrow! YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BabaEva

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
These are very different! A cross between a brownie and a candy. Just a note- one bag of butterscotch chips is 1 2/3 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2003
Everyone in the house went nuts over these! I played around a bit. Didn't have any butterscotch chips so I used white chocolate instead..then reversed it using semi sweet and added white chocolate. This is just a great recipe to play with. A++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2000
These are the best cookies I have ever eaten! In fact, my husband made me promise that I would never make them again because we can eat the whole batch by ourselves in a single day! Really delicious and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
These are FANTASTIC! The only warning I can really give is that they are V-E-R-Y rich! When I make them again, I will probably cut them into small bite-size squares and serve them on a platter because a whole "brownie" size piece was almost too much to eat @ once because of the richness. Awesome bars and incredibly easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Bovenkamp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2002
These are great! Chewy, gooey, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by loisln77
Reviewed: May 29, 2011
4 stars because I reduced the choc.chips, butterscotch and marshmallows by half. Otherwise it would have been WAY too sweet! To retain the butterscotch flavor, I would incorporate 1/2 cup butterscotch chips in with the choc.chip/nut/mallow mixture. Also, it is a MUST that you line the pan with foil. After cooling slightly, I lifted out by the foil and cut into bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loisln77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
You must like very sweet & chewy treats to enjoy these. I LOVE them. Avoid using a nonstick pan-you'll just scratch it up. Using a Pyrex glass pan might've made clean up easeir. The recipe should say to temper the eggs or bring them to room temperature. One of them curdled- I forgot that rule.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States