Nordy Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
You must like very sweet & chewy treats to enjoy these. I LOVE them. Avoid using a nonstick pan-you'll just scratch it up. Using a Pyrex glass pan might've made clean up easeir. The recipe should say to temper the eggs or bring them to room temperature. One of them curdled- I forgot that rule.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by mbehr14
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Wow! Everyone loved these. They are very gooey. I used 1 cup peanut butter chips and 1 cup Heath pieces for the butterscotch chips, cause thats all I had. I've already had requests to make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mbehr14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alsip, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Made this without walnuts - we loved them, although the butterscotchy flavor could be toned down. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Sorry, but these were not good at all. I've never had a bar from Nordstrom to compare, but these were a huge disappointment. (1.) They tasted like nothing but sugar in a chewy form. I love all the ingredients, but strangely, when you put them all together it was nothing but sugar overload. I think if you blindfolded someone and gave them one, they would be hard-pressed to tell you that there is butterscotch and chocolate chips and marshmallows in there. I certainly couldn't taste any of those items. (2.) In spite of baking for only 25 minutes, they were awful to get out of the pan and still have them look presentable. (3.) My pan was a nightmare to get clean after these babies. I would have given them one star, but my husband brought them to work for a potluck and they were all gone after it was over. Two of his co-workers said they liked them, which surprised him because he thought the same thing that I did when he tried them. Sorry. I wouldn't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Roseville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
these r sooo good, but very sweet so i cut my bars bite size so those who wanted less could have the right amount and those with a really big sweet tooth could take more then one. very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lussier25

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
I thought this recipe did not turn out good at all. I wonder if maybe my butterscotch chips were a poor brand because they didnt melt very well. If you do make this recipe make sure you dont add the eggs to the hot mixture because youll fry them. Gradually blend them in a separate bowl. I would recommend a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quincy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
Absolutely the best! I used peanut butter chips instead of butterscotch b/c that is what i had on hand, and had to substitute some baking chocolate for some of the chocolate chips, b/c I ran out...these were still fabulous! I took them out of the oven just a bit early, so they are perfectly moist and a bit gooey, just like a i like them! I will definitely make them again....I can't wait to try them with butterscotch chips! Definitely a KEEPER!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILUVBROWNIES
Home Town: Mebane, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bamberg, Bayern, Germany
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Much better the next day and used peanut butter chips instead of butterscotch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly. The batter was so thick I worried I did something wrong, but the end product was delicious. Another reviewer mentioned when the time was up the middle didn't look done, but she took them out anyway. I should have followed her advice because I left mine in a few minutes longer and they were slightly over done (but still tasty). Next time I will put foil in the pan and then grease the foil because it was very difficult getting the bars out of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
This was just not an impressive recipe. I was all excited reading the ingredients, but upon tasting it, it didn't taste anything different then your average chocolate chip cookie bar. The flavor of the butterscotch was all but lost in the flour, and the marshmallows didn't contribute anything, in my opinion. I would use less flour, and more butterscotch, and I might even add dried cranberries in place of the nuts. I'll wait til next year, though. Just not motivated enough to try this again. Still reeling over the disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YHWH Bread of Life

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States