Nordy Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Made this without walnuts - we loved them, although the butterscotchy flavor could be toned down. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Sorry, but these were not good at all. I've never had a bar from Nordstrom to compare, but these were a huge disappointment. (1.) They tasted like nothing but sugar in a chewy form. I love all the ingredients, but strangely, when you put them all together it was nothing but sugar overload. I think if you blindfolded someone and gave them one, they would be hard-pressed to tell you that there is butterscotch and chocolate chips and marshmallows in there. I certainly couldn't taste any of those items. (2.) In spite of baking for only 25 minutes, they were awful to get out of the pan and still have them look presentable. (3.) My pan was a nightmare to get clean after these babies. I would have given them one star, but my husband brought them to work for a potluck and they were all gone after it was over. Two of his co-workers said they liked them, which surprised him because he thought the same thing that I did when he tried them. Sorry. I wouldn't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Roseville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
these r sooo good, but very sweet so i cut my bars bite size so those who wanted less could have the right amount and those with a really big sweet tooth could take more then one. very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lussier25

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
I thought this recipe did not turn out good at all. I wonder if maybe my butterscotch chips were a poor brand because they didnt melt very well. If you do make this recipe make sure you dont add the eggs to the hot mixture because youll fry them. Gradually blend them in a separate bowl. I would recommend a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quincy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
Absolutely the best! I used peanut butter chips instead of butterscotch b/c that is what i had on hand, and had to substitute some baking chocolate for some of the chocolate chips, b/c I ran out...these were still fabulous! I took them out of the oven just a bit early, so they are perfectly moist and a bit gooey, just like a i like them! I will definitely make them again....I can't wait to try them with butterscotch chips! Definitely a KEEPER!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILUVBROWNIES
Home Town: Mebane, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bamberg, Bayern, Germany
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Much better the next day and used peanut butter chips instead of butterscotch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly. The batter was so thick I worried I did something wrong, but the end product was delicious. Another reviewer mentioned when the time was up the middle didn't look done, but she took them out anyway. I should have followed her advice because I left mine in a few minutes longer and they were slightly over done (but still tasty). Next time I will put foil in the pan and then grease the foil because it was very difficult getting the bars out of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
This was just not an impressive recipe. I was all excited reading the ingredients, but upon tasting it, it didn't taste anything different then your average chocolate chip cookie bar. The flavor of the butterscotch was all but lost in the flour, and the marshmallows didn't contribute anything, in my opinion. I would use less flour, and more butterscotch, and I might even add dried cranberries in place of the nuts. I'll wait til next year, though. Just not motivated enough to try this again. Still reeling over the disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YHWH Bread of Life

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
These turned out just perfect! Exactly how I remember them at Nordstrom. I left out the walnuts because I don't like them, and these bars were still wonderful. I also sent half of them to work with my husband yesterday and his coworkers are already requesting more. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
I love this recipe. It is easy and delicious. I also am so glad I found it on All Recipes. I had this recipe from the 80s but only had the ingredients on my personal recipe card. With the help of All Recpes I was able to make it for a group of friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States