Nordy Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2003
This is a fantastic bar cookie/brownie! My husband and daughter agree :) It is delicious as is, but I could easily see it without the nuts and marshmallows and it would still be delicious. The only issue I had was when I mixed the egg in after removing the pan from the medium heat - next time I will allow the mixture to cool slightly before adding the egg, because the egg cooked a bit. It didn't affect the end result, but I didn't like having cooked egg in the mixture. When I took the bars out of the oven, they looked very raw in the middle, but I took them out anyway. After about 2 hours they did firm up and were perfect. I personally liked them even more the next day! I can see bringing these to gatherings and bake sales with great success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTEN02

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pflugerville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2002
I just made these bars and the whole pan is gone! DELICIOUS! I'm going to make these again tomorrow! YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BabaEva

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly. The batter was so thick I worried I did something wrong, but the end product was delicious. Another reviewer mentioned when the time was up the middle didn't look done, but she took them out anyway. I should have followed her advice because I left mine in a few minutes longer and they were slightly over done (but still tasty). Next time I will put foil in the pan and then grease the foil because it was very difficult getting the bars out of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
These are very different! A cross between a brownie and a candy. Just a note- one bag of butterscotch chips is 1 2/3 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
These are FANTASTIC! The only warning I can really give is that they are V-E-R-Y rich! When I make them again, I will probably cut them into small bite-size squares and serve them on a platter because a whole "brownie" size piece was almost too much to eat @ once because of the richness. Awesome bars and incredibly easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Bovenkamp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2003
Everyone in the house went nuts over these! I played around a bit. Didn't have any butterscotch chips so I used white chocolate instead..then reversed it using semi sweet and added white chocolate. This is just a great recipe to play with. A++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2000
These are the best cookies I have ever eaten! In fact, my husband made me promise that I would never make them again because we can eat the whole batch by ourselves in a single day! Really delicious and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
You must like very sweet & chewy treats to enjoy these. I LOVE them. Avoid using a nonstick pan-you'll just scratch it up. Using a Pyrex glass pan might've made clean up easeir. The recipe should say to temper the eggs or bring them to room temperature. One of them curdled- I forgot that rule.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Sorry, but these were not good at all. I've never had a bar from Nordstrom to compare, but these were a huge disappointment. (1.) They tasted like nothing but sugar in a chewy form. I love all the ingredients, but strangely, when you put them all together it was nothing but sugar overload. I think if you blindfolded someone and gave them one, they would be hard-pressed to tell you that there is butterscotch and chocolate chips and marshmallows in there. I certainly couldn't taste any of those items. (2.) In spite of baking for only 25 minutes, they were awful to get out of the pan and still have them look presentable. (3.) My pan was a nightmare to get clean after these babies. I would have given them one star, but my husband brought them to work for a potluck and they were all gone after it was over. Two of his co-workers said they liked them, which surprised him because he thought the same thing that I did when he tried them. Sorry. I wouldn't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Roseville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2002
These are great! Chewy, gooey, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States