Nordy Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
A favorite of my friends, I make no changes to the recipe. They hold up pretty well over time, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Princess Eve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upper Saddle River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
It was okay but didn't make it to my xmas cookie platter. Altough, I liked how easy it was. I might use a different chip instead of butterscotch next time w/out the nuts. Make sure to completely cool before adding the chocolate chips and marshmallow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I have made these but have yet to taste them as they are in the oven as I type. They smell good! I just wanted to put it out there that when I did the first stage in the pan, I didn't read the directions properly. I plopped everything in the pan at once and heated. The mixture was separated into a peanut butter like paste on the bottom and a butter oil slick surrounding. If this happens to you do not fret! Once I added the eggs (mixed it in the stand mixer) it smoothed right out and all seem to have gone well after that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fyne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Super simple but like other people are saying it makes you think you did something wrong because the batter is so thick and then when they are done they seem raw in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Wonderful cookie. Always gets compliments. However the second time I made it, I modified the process just slightly and found it much easier to handle. I didn't leave it on the heat as long as recommended. This is what I did instead: Melt butter. Remove from heat. Add brown sugar, stirring/mixing well. Add butterscotch chips. Stir till mostly melted. Add beaten eggs and vanilla. Stir again well. Add flour and baking powder gradually, stirring all the while. Add marshmallows and chocolate chips, mixing well. I don't always include the nuts and I don't add salt. I like that you only have to dirty one saucepan; don't even use a bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
These were easy to make and really good. These will be made often: )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cupcake74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peshtigo, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
I didn't have marshmallows and don't care for nuts so I skipped those. Plus I was a little low on butterscotch (about 1 1/2 cups) so I added a tablespoon or two of peanut butter. They were definitely very rich and sweet but I liked them. My boyfriend who isn't big on sweets liked them. And my coworkers all loved them. They were easy and a crowd pleaser, they will definitely come around again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by loisln77
Reviewed: May 29, 2011
4 stars because I reduced the choc.chips, butterscotch and marshmallows by half. Otherwise it would have been WAY too sweet! To retain the butterscotch flavor, I would incorporate 1/2 cup butterscotch chips in with the choc.chip/nut/mallow mixture. Also, it is a MUST that you line the pan with foil. After cooling slightly, I lifted out by the foil and cut into bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loisln77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
You must like very sweet & chewy treats to enjoy these. I LOVE them. Avoid using a nonstick pan-you'll just scratch it up. Using a Pyrex glass pan might've made clean up easeir. The recipe should say to temper the eggs or bring them to room temperature. One of them curdled- I forgot that rule.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by mbehr14
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Wow! Everyone loved these. They are very gooey. I used 1 cup peanut butter chips and 1 cup Heath pieces for the butterscotch chips, cause thats all I had. I've already had requests to make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mbehr14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alsip, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States