Noodles Napoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Rebekah Rose Hills
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
This was a good dish - I found the extra steps involved a little strange and think you could probably get the same results by cooking the ground beef, sausage, onion, and garlic all together in the skillet, then adding in the remaining ingredients and simmering. I thought this was a fresher tasting Hamburger-Helper type dish and my son and I really enjoyed it! I left the cheese off of mine since I can't have dairy but otherwise followed ingredients and instructions - I added a little extra s&p along with garlic powder after taste testing before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah Rose Hills

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hiram, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
This recipe was just.....ok. Like one user stated it is time consuming. Not a 5 star by any means.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zepriderr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rainier, Oregon, USA
Living In: Troutdale, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Years ago (like mid-1960's!), my dad found this recipe in one of those cookbooks you buy near the grocery checkout lines. We never made meat patties, and didn't use pimentos. The noodles are a little hard to get evenly brown, but I think that's what sets this dish apart. It's a tasty one-skillet dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dianedsk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
This was a pretty good skillet meal, wasn't exactly the easiest meal to prepare however. I made a few adjustments to it. I added about an 1/8 cup of sliced ripe olives, added a 1/8 tsp of garlic salt, & 1 tsp. of sugar (for 2 servings).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
I reviewed this once and the computer lost it, so sorry if it's a repeat. I didn't exactly follow the recipe. First, I split the meat into 4 patties. I didn't put the 2 cups of water in right away, as I thought that would make it too wet to reduce properly. I put in 1 cup, and added about 3/4 of the second cup during the simmer stage. I used Mozzarella cheese and put in some oregano, basil, and parsley toward the end. What emerged from this recipe was pasta with meatballs. The browned egg noodles didn't seem to do much. If I made it again, I'd probably use slightly-parboiled rigatoni, penne, etc. I'd also skip the melting cheese, but that's entirely personal preference. The reason I really enjoyed this recipe is that, when you leave out the water-and-noodles routine, is a *very* good and easy way to make tomato sauce with meatballs. No, they're not nice round meatballs. But the perfect, as they say, is the enemy of the good. Use a lot of onion, and the sugar in the onion plus the beef/sausage fat "mellow" the tomatoes into a really nice sauce. You could make this sauce and, with some Mozzarella cheese, have a great pizza topping. Or use the meatballs for sandwiches and reserve the tomato sauce for pasta. It's a really handy recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
time consuming, but worth it. My husband drools over this stuff, i leave out the pimentos. I dunno what that other person meant, this recipe is not bland but VERY rich. I have served it to guests and they loved it. Although it makes your home smell like onion and that can be bothersome if you just cleaned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Loomis, California, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
Not bad but a little bland for our tastes. I think it's a great base for something that can be spiced up. I liked the browning of the noodles and also the Italian Sausage and ground beef patties but I had to make 4 patties instead of just 1 or 2 as listed in the recipe. I recommend not using a just cleaned stove top like I did as the drippings from the browned patties tends to pop all over the stove LOL! Other than that it was a good recipe...thanks so much Susanna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Verna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2000
Very good, a mans dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Tips and Noodles

See how to make a simple, beefy noodle dish.

Chicken Alfredo with Fettuccini Noodles

This chicken Alfredo pasta dish is rich and satisfying.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Noodles

A truly old-fashioned chicken soup with homemade noodles and stock.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States