Noodles Mexicana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
My husband loved it too. I bought egg noodles for a change. Also had some ground beef and no idea what to make. I love allrecipes.com. I keyed in my ingredients and this recipe was in the list. My husband is on a low sodium diet and I was able to use no sodium products I keep on hand including no sodium spices. After reading one comment that the dish was kinda dry I added a full can of water. I've already recommended this dish to a couple of friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mycou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
I didn't use the olives and I added 4 cups of chicken broth with the noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
I loved this dish! It combines my two favorite foods- Mexican and egg noodles. Yummy! I did add some black beans, mexicorn, diced tomatoes and water. Next time I'll switch to a stock pot after browning the meat because my large skillet just wasn't big enough. Super tasty! Looking forward to the leftovers tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Great recipe,and I just discovered what was missing. I did not drain the chili beans, I added a spoonful of salsa, and a can of tomato paste (6 oz). The tomato paste took it from watery to amazing!I also used two Roma tomatoes instead of canned because it's all I had. Thanks! It's like gourmet hamburger helper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
nasty! I had to keep adding water, seasonings, salsa etc to get the noodles to soak up some moisture and cook. In the end, it was burning to the bottom of the pot and the noodles were pasty. What a waste! Thank goodness for cheese and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
Was an easy dinner to fix but the taste was just ok. There was not near enough liquid to cook the noodles in. I had to add about 2 cups of water to make it work...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Photo by jenniwithani
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
I love this kind of recipe that you can easily alter to your tastes or what you have on hand. I used frozen corn instead of canned, ommitted the olives and omitted the green onion. I was looking for a recipe to use up some leftover taco meat. Since it was already seasoned, I didn't add another taco seasoning pack, but did add about a tsp of cumin, tbs of chili powder, a dash of garlic salt and about a 1/2 tsp of red pepper flakes. Some complained that this recipe was too dry. KEEP ADDING WATER UNTIL YOU COVER THE EGG NOODLES on the final step. Uncover and reduce if you find it too soupy. Great recipe, thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenniwithani

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
This is one of the worst things i ever made. You'd be better off making the noodles seperate. Kept adding liquid while noodles cooked and when it was finally done the whole dish tasted too starched from cooking the noodles with the dish. Almost through it out. Probobly will throw out the leftovers(which I'm sure there will be plenty)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
A few changes - added chopped green chilis instead of green onions and kidney beans instead of chili beans. I used frozen corn instead of canned as that's what I had on hand. Also left out the added salt (taco seasoning is salty enough). Used about half the amount of egg noodles, and added a small (8 oz) can of tomato sauce as the finished product didn't seem saucy enough. Served with shredded cheese along with the sour cream. Very good - will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I too felt like there was something missing in this recipe. It was good, but not great. I wondered if using chorizo sausage might spice it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Tips and Noodles

See how to make a simple, beefy noodle dish.

Zucchini Noodles and Feta Meatballs

This amazing "spaghetti" and meatballs dinner is completely gluten-free.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Noodles

A truly old-fashioned chicken soup with homemade noodles and stock.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States