Noodles Alfredo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
The recipe as is deserves about 3.5 stars, it is a bit bland. However, I made some changes that made it excellent! We like extra sauce, so this is what I did. I doubled the heavy cream but kept the butter amount the same. I then added in a few tablespoons of cream cheese. I used 3/4 cup of grated Romano cheese and a large handful of shredded mozzarella to make it creamier. I also added in 2 teaspoons of garlic powder for some additional flavor. I then let that sit on the warmer on my stove and sauteed some chicken in garlic and butter. I served the sauce over fettucine noodles and put the chicken on top of it. Garlic bread on the side completed a fantastic meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
202 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caliboo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
This is a great, simple side dish recipe. I have made this several times now, even using regular milk to do so. Although, it is much better with the cream. I don't know that I would change anything else as they are perfect. We have these noodles with chicken at least once a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
Our family loves this dish. I normally double the recipe and substitute 1/4 of the parmesan with shredded mozarella. That seems to make the sauce smoother. I also use half & half instead of heavy cream...haven't noticed a difference. Takes about 15 minutes to throw together, so it's great for busy nights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
This is an excellent recipe, with the reduction of butter to 1/4 c. or less. I can tell from their comments that a lot of people probably used Kraft Parmesan in the can. You cannot use that junk in recipes! That's a topping only! You have to use the real stuff from the refrigerator section in any recipe that calls for Parmesan mixed in a sauce. Also, some people use "grated" when they really mean "shredded." Even though this recipe said grated cheese, they did not mean Kraft grated cheese in the can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2003
This is by far the best alfredo sauce I've ever made, although I have to point out what I would change. It was too thick and too salty for me, which made it impossible to add chicken to it. Because of the thickness, we were already eating two servings of sauce each--any less would not coat all the noodles. Next time I will use less butter or at least use some unsalted butter, and I might try using half-n-half instead of heavy cream. Either way, my boyfriend said he'd pay $15 for it at a retaurant! Best compliment he ever gave me...!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
This was pretty good. I was looking for something fast and easy to make with leftover egg noodles. I used 3 tbps of fresh parsley instead, and the key to having a smooth sauce is to use freshly grated parmesan, not pre-shredded.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Great and delicious best alfredo sauce I've ever had or made(:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Amazing! this is my go to alfredo sauce period. some tips: if you use a canned grated parmesan like Krafts, use unsalted butter and use about 1/8 cup less. Canned is saltier and its stronger. do try to use fresh hand grated parmesan in you can get it... when you taste the difference you'll be amazed. you can switch heavy cream or half and half or a mix of both. I've actually used just plain milk (with a bit more butter) there is a longer method of alfredo with butter, flour chicken stock and cream with parmesan. Its wonderful too, but for fast and easy, this is the best! This is delicious but plainer side dish and I would seved with more complex main dishes. However, if my main dish is just plain, ie roasted chicken.. I'd punch this up a notch with maybe some spinach, some garlic, some mushroom... the varieties are many! This recipe as is deserves 10 stars. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
We enjoyed this one! I wanted to prep this ahead, so I cooked the noodles ahead of time and refrigerated them. I also put the alfredo sauce together ahead and refrigerated that separately. Just before dinner, I reheated the noodles in the microwave and the sauce on the stovetop. When both were heated, I combined the two and served. Very good and one I would do again. Next time I will add a little garlic to the alfredo sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
I made this after my husband requested chicken alfredo. (I cooked up some chicken breast and served it with this.) He liked the flavor, although I thought it was a little bland (maybe some garlic next time?). My biggest problem was that it never thickened up - he called it "soupy." Either way, I'll probably keep playing with it; maybe I'll add flour or cornstarch next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grafton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Alfredo with Fettuccini Noodles

This chicken Alfredo pasta dish is rich and satisfying.

Alfredo Sauce

See how to make a scrumptious creamy cheese sauce for pasta.

Lighter Spaghetti Alfredo

See how to make a lighter version of Alfredo with cauliflower.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States