Noodles Alfredo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Hummmmm....this recipe is one I have been making since 197l, published in Betty Crocker. Even the name is the same. The only difference is heavy cream instead of half & half. It is a a very good dish but it requires good Parmesan Reggiano. It has spoiled me for the commercial bottled sauces which in no way resemble this sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
As is this recipe is a bit heavy and bland. I used less than half the butter and added a large clove of freshly minced garlic to to the butter and soften until I could smell the garlic odor coming off before adding the cream. I was very generous with the fresh ground black pepper. But now we have a classic Alfredo sauce. :) Add roasted chicken and broccoli for a fast main dish, or one of my favorites is to add smoked salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loren

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: San Carlos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
This is an excellent recipe, with the reduction of butter to 1/4 c. or less. I can tell from their comments that a lot of people probably used Kraft Parmesan in the can. You cannot use that junk in recipes! That's a topping only! You have to use the real stuff from the refrigerator section in any recipe that calls for Parmesan mixed in a sauce. Also, some people use "grated" when they really mean "shredded." Even though this recipe said grated cheese, they did not mean Kraft grated cheese in the can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
After reading the reviews I was afraid adding mozzarella may make the sauce a little stringy, so here is what I did. I melted the 1/2 cup butter in a large sauce pan and sauted 1 clove of finely minced garlic, about 30 seconds. I added 8 ounces of softened cream cheese, and only 3/4 cup grated parmesan cheese; sprinkled in some white pepper to taste and the parsley (I didn't add any salt). Stirred that constantly until the cheeses were melted and butter was fully incorporated (if the sauce isn’t hot enough it may seem grainy or separated but keep heating and stirring and it will come together.) I then added 3/4 cup of milk (didn’t have any cream) and stirred until the sauce came to a simmer and started to bubble around the sides of the pan. I put the 8 ounces of hot, cooked and drained noodles into a serving bowl and added the sauce, tossing to coat. This turned out smooth and creamy, and absolutely delicious! This sauce thickens as it cools, so serve immediately. If the sauce does thicken, or you like your sauce thinner; just stir in a little additional milk. You can add hot cooked chicken, shrimp or vegetables, along with the noodles. Also makes a great sauce for chicken or vegetable lasagna or white pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
I have made a very similar recipe. We make this all the time. The directions were different. After draining the noodles you put them in the bowl then add the grated cheese, mix into the hot noodles, then you pour the melted butter and heated milk or cream over the noodles and mix, I think this will help prevent the clumping. You could also melt the butter and just add a little flour, I think I did a tablespoon, maybe 2 I can't remember,cook the flour then add the cream or milk be sure to be mix or whisk while doing this till it is smooth and then pour over your hot & drained noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
We enjoyed this one! I wanted to prep this ahead, so I cooked the noodles ahead of time and refrigerated them. I also put the alfredo sauce together ahead and refrigerated that separately. Just before dinner, I reheated the noodles in the microwave and the sauce on the stovetop. When both were heated, I combined the two and served. Very good and one I would do again. Next time I will add a little garlic to the alfredo sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
Very nice! My 16 year old son made this tonight. We followed instructions exactly. The cheese was a bit grainy and did not melt all the way but we did use pre-shredded parm instead ofr shredding it ourselves. That would account for the graininess. Over all, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
This recipe was a hit with my family and friends :) i mixed in some of the quick alfredo sauce recipe and it's amazing !! Thank You :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Great and delicious best alfredo sauce I've ever had or made(:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Quick, simple and easy to remember, all the while being very good! I've used this multiple times now and each time it satisfies! Following the directions exactly renders a good Alfredo which can be easily customizable, but perfect if you just want to whip it together after work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Purple_Panda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Alfredo with Fettuccini Noodles

This chicken Alfredo pasta dish is rich and satisfying.

Lighter Spaghetti Alfredo

See how to make a lighter version of Alfredo with cauliflower.

Alfredo Sauce

See how to make a scrumptious creamy cheese sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States