Nontraditional Crab Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I decided to make this recipe for a friend of mine. She loves seafood, while I'm not a huge seafood fan. Followed the recipe, then filled jalapenos with the dip and grilled them! Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I used a full pound of imitation crabmeat, shredded finely. Instead of green onion, used about a tbsp of red onion (I know it's not the same flavor, but it's all I had). Upon mixing everything with the creamcheese, the dip felt too stiff to me (even my hand mixer was stalling), such that I knew it would break the buttery crackers when dipping, so I added about 1/3 cup buttermilk to just get it to a more spreadable consistency. My monterey jack cheese was with jalapeno peppers, so that added some more heat - might be too spicy for some people that way, but was perfect for me!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
It was a hit! I used a small can of green chilies instead of the jalapeño pepper, plus a little salt and pepper. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Very good but I made some alterations: I used approx 1 full cup dungeness lump crab, 1pkg 8oz cream cheese (vs 2), 6oz (total) pepper jack and otherwise stucke to the recipe minus the jalepenos. It was very tasty and very rich. I would definitely make this again but add some seasoning like old bay, maybe a little tapatio, and some chopped/thawed/drained frozen spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Great dip, thank you! I've also found that using the same amount of shrimp with this works Great too! Because of the consistency of this dip, what I like to do is thinly slice a sourdough bagette and coat both sides w/garlic butter(many ways to make/buy your own) and toast slices in toaster oven until lightly brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This is easy and delicious, but like the other reviewers I doctored it up. Added 1/4 cup cocktail sauce, about 10 dashes of hot sauce, 1/2 cup light sour cream, and some old bay seasoning. Served with crackers hot from the oven, gone very quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
Everybody loved it! I combined several of the suggestions from other reviews to make up my own version. I used 12 oz. lite cream cheese, 2 Tbls. lite sour cream, 1 tsp. Old Bay, 1 tsp. jalpenos, Pepper Jack cheese and the juice of one lime (about 2 Tbls). I sprinkled the top with a little more Old Bay, garlic powder and paprika (for color). Great consistency, flavor and presentation. I only cooked it 15-20 min. Served with Tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
EVERYONE LOVES THIS DIP!!! I have had a ridiculous number of people ask me for this recipe and some of my friends won't let me come over for parties any more unless I promise to bring it. Believe me, you want to make this dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
I thought this recipe was kinda bland, but it was a good base. I think that in the future I would ad more spices/veggies. Possibly red peppers, more garlic, onion, etc...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EROCK101

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2007
This was gone before I knew what happened! Lowfat cream cheese worked fine here, I used real crabmeat in a pouch and added extra jalapeno and lemon juice. It was still pretty thick, so I added some lowfat sour cream. The next time I make this I may add a chipotle pepper for a smoky flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

RITZ White Pizza Meatball Dip

See how to make the pizza meatball dip created by Lombardi's Pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States