Nonnie's Ham Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Perfect for a cold winter night. Easy, quick, and you can vary the recipe to suit what you have on hand (besides the ham, of course!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I used frozen hash brown potatoes since I was in a hurry. I think they made it better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
I would give 3.5. I'll try this recipe again using less pepper and a little more chicken bouillon and maybe some other spices. It was just a little bland for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
This turned out to be a big hit with my family. the first two times I made this, there was no left overs. There are 8 of us so I make a much larger batch. I did add more potatoes and used carrots rather than mixed veggies. I make it up a day or two in advance to take it camping with us & serve it with Texas Toast. Making a 3rd batch right now. Thanks for sharing this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I thought this was very quick and delicious. I served it with homemade pan rolls. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Photo by houseofbrian
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Ive made this monthly, and its always great as directed, or with mods.. I usually make it with powdered milk, a bit more butter, and pepper, and I follow the directions on my chicken base.. Ive used canned ham, baked ham, smoked ham, and left over boiled ham from ham n beans. It all works good. Ive used sage instead of thyme and its great too. I always add garlic.. Its a great ham chowder. We love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by houseofbrian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Even better heated up the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I made this chowder following the recipe exactly. I used leftover ham from Easter, half a bag of frozen carrots and a can of corn, and served it with a loaf of homemade bread and butter. Both my husband and I really enjoyed it and I can't wait to have more! I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Great! I did as it said but I didn't have a fresh onion so I used dried. Also, I used a whole bag of frozen vegetables but I should have only used half. Would maybe add another potato. Grated garlic and cheese made this incredible. It turned out wonderful! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
I wish I could give this 4.5 stars. While it was very good, I feel like something essential was missing. I added some celery that I cooked with the onion and also some garlic. I think next time I make this, I'll take the suggestion of another reviewer and stir in some cheese at the end. Thanks for the recipe, Kristin. My husband really loved this and I loved how simple it was to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Citrus Punch
Home Town: Wilton, Iowa, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States