Nonnie's Ham Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
This was excellent. I only used white onion because Vidalia are not in season now, I didn't have the chicken bouillon so used about 1/2 of the 3 cups milk and 1-1/2 cups chicken broth. I also sauteed a little celery along with the onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine Simmons

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Ive made this recipe before. Its great folks and don't change a thing except maybe your seasoning preference. Serve with some steaming hot rolls with real butter (butter is more healthy) and you have a cold weathers night winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeahW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
I wish I could give this 4.5 stars. While it was very good, I feel like something essential was missing. I added some celery that I cooked with the onion and also some garlic. I think next time I make this, I'll take the suggestion of another reviewer and stir in some cheese at the end. Thanks for the recipe, Kristin. My husband really loved this and I loved how simple it was to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Citrus Punch
Home Town: Wilton, Iowa, USA
Photo by Jenn
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Very tasty! I made a half a batch for lunch for my husband and I as I was looking to use up leftovers, not create more. But I sure wish I'd made a whole batch because now I want some for dinner too. I made it mostly as stated except added some celery and garlic with the onion, a little extra milk (about 1/8 cup), and about 1/2 cup of water when I put the ham and veggies (broccoli, cauliflower, & carrots) in as I like my soup just a bit thinner. I also stirred in 2 handfulls of shredded cheddar cheese at the end. Toasted up a little sourdough for the dipping, Mmmm good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
I changed it just a little for my husband who had a tumor removed from his stomach and is on a liquid diet for a least two weeks, I cooked the potatoes and then pureed them with the milk I did not use the flour since the puree thickened it. and I did not add the vegetables
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by houseofbrian
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Ive made this monthly, and its always great as directed, or with mods.. I usually make it with powdered milk, a bit more butter, and pepper, and I follow the directions on my chicken base.. Ive used canned ham, baked ham, smoked ham, and left over boiled ham from ham n beans. It all works good. Ive used sage instead of thyme and its great too. I always add garlic.. Its a great ham chowder. We love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by houseofbrian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I made this chowder following the recipe exactly. I used leftover ham from Easter, half a bag of frozen carrots and a can of corn, and served it with a loaf of homemade bread and butter. Both my husband and I really enjoyed it and I can't wait to have more! I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Great! I did as it said but I didn't have a fresh onion so I used dried. Also, I used a whole bag of frozen vegetables but I should have only used half. Would maybe add another potato. Grated garlic and cheese made this incredible. It turned out wonderful! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I had to triple the recipe to get about 4 quarts for my family. Original would not have been enough. I added sour cream, salt, and more pepper. Even with those extras it's a little bland and I need a substitute for the flour. I don't like the flour aftertaste. If I use again, I will be modifying more. Just too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Even better heated up the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States