Nonna's Tuscan Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Very versatile recipe! I made it pretty much as written the first time around except that I used fresh herbs. I meant to add less water per other reviewers' suggestions, but was an airhead and added it all anyway when I was making it. It was rather watery and runny but it still tasted good -- so good that I made it again that week. The second time I made it, I used balsamic, dried herbs, less water, and plain nonfat yogurt instead of mayo to make it healthier. The balsamic I used added a really nice sweetness to the dressing that balanced the tartness a little better than the red wine vinegar. I also thought the nonfat yogurt worked out well with the balsamic and gave it the same creaminess that the mayo did without all those calories. I will be making this again tonight because it is just that good! Thanks for sharing this delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
I adjusted per the submitters' review, but unfortunately found it thin, under-seasoned, and oddly colored.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Added a bit more parm and a tsp of sugar....LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JaneyC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Spruce Grove, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
Absolutely Loved It!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Valencia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
This is delicious. Didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
Great! Used 1/3 cup of water as the submitter suggested. Will definitely make often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
I missed the reviews about adjusting the water at first, so I took the submitter's advice and added some tomato paste to the mix (about 2T). This significantly helped mellow the acid but the dressing was still pretty watery. It did, however, thicken right up after a few hours in the fridge. Having tasted the dressing before and after the addition of the tomato paste, I will make the tomato paste a permanent part of the recipe...it was delicious over a Spinach and Tortellini salad recipe also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Lys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
I've been looking for a tasty homeade (less salt! no chemicals! ) Italian dressing, and this is a great framework recipe you can customize to your taste. I LOATHE mayonnaise, so substituted sour cream. Used a dried pesto Italian seasoning - about 1.5 teaspoons. Only had a "so-so" balsamic on hand, so put in a little honey to taste, more black pepper and a dash of Kosher salt...awesome taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Baricat, if you are trying to edit your recipe, go to your Recipe Box and hover over the title of your recipe, a drop down box that says Options will open, scroll down to Edit. Hope that helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
The Salad Dressing is great and it works out pretty well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Italian Dressing Mix

See how to make a quick-and-easy dry Italian dressing mix.

Ranch Dressing II

This dressing is tangy with flavors of herbs. Mmm!

Baked Goat Cheese Caprese Salad

Taste a creamy, inspired version of the classic tomato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States