Nonna's Tuscan Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
Absolutely awful. It had the consistency of skim milk and was so sour it made my mouth pucker. I threw it out. I learned two lessons from this. 1) Read all the comments BEFORE trying the recipe. 2) If everyone (especially the submitter) finds it necessary to tweak the recipe, that is a big clue. Why would you submit a recipe if you yourself don't make it that way?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
While this dressing has all the right ingredients the flavour balance seems off. Adding the suggested corn syrup (light rather than golden) helped a little, but I still found it still sharp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynjne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Very versatile recipe! I made it pretty much as written the first time around except that I used fresh herbs. I meant to add less water per other reviewers' suggestions, but was an airhead and added it all anyway when I was making it. It was rather watery and runny but it still tasted good -- so good that I made it again that week. The second time I made it, I used balsamic, dried herbs, less water, and plain nonfat yogurt instead of mayo to make it healthier. The balsamic I used added a really nice sweetness to the dressing that balanced the tartness a little better than the red wine vinegar. I also thought the nonfat yogurt worked out well with the balsamic and gave it the same creaminess that the mayo did without all those calories. I will be making this again tonight because it is just that good! Thanks for sharing this delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
I adjusted per the submitters' review, but unfortunately found it thin, under-seasoned, and oddly colored.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Added a bit more parm and a tsp of sugar....LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JaneyC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Spruce Grove, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
Absolutely Loved It!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Valencia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
This is delicious. Didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
Great! Used 1/3 cup of water as the submitter suggested. Will definitely make often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
I missed the reviews about adjusting the water at first, so I took the submitter's advice and added some tomato paste to the mix (about 2T). This significantly helped mellow the acid but the dressing was still pretty watery. It did, however, thicken right up after a few hours in the fridge. Having tasted the dressing before and after the addition of the tomato paste, I will make the tomato paste a permanent part of the recipe...it was delicious over a Spinach and Tortellini salad recipe also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Lys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
I've been looking for a tasty homeade (less salt! no chemicals! ) Italian dressing, and this is a great framework recipe you can customize to your taste. I LOATHE mayonnaise, so substituted sour cream. Used a dried pesto Italian seasoning - about 1.5 teaspoons. Only had a "so-so" balsamic on hand, so put in a little honey to taste, more black pepper and a dash of Kosher salt...awesome taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Green Goddess Salad Dressing

It’s the classic green salad dressing starring tarragon and parsley.

Italian Dressing Mix

See how to make a quick-and-easy dry Italian dressing mix.

Chef John's Green Goddess Dressing

See how to make creamy, herby Green Goddess dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States