Nonna's Tuscan Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
We loved this. It reminds us of Olive Garden's salad dressing, only a bit creamier. It was just the right tartness for our palates. I let it whirl in the blender for about 2-3 minutes or so. If it's too tart, you could always back off a bit on the vinegar, or use balsamic, which will give smoothness to the taste. But all I can say is in this house, we LOVED it and I keep a cruet of it in the fridge all the time for dipping baby carrots and impromptu salads. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
this was good, but not one of our favorites or something i'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Worth, Florida, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
We love this dressing! I did use less water than stated. I also love parmesan & garlic so I added those to my liking. You can do so many different variations depending on your preferences. It's a great mix of flavors. Next I will try it with a good balsamic or a mix of vinegars! Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
This was excellent. Even my picky kids liked it. As I was preparing dinner, my daughter was dipping the salad veggies in it and snacking! The only change I made was that I used half balsamic vinegar and half apple cider vinegar because that was all I had. No more store-bought Italian dressing for us! This is going to be a regular on our dinner table. Thanks for submitting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
Really good and fresh tasting. The only change I made was only adding about half the water. Don't bother buying store bought---so much tastier. It was even better 2 or 3 days later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tizzylizz
Home Town: Milford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
The flavor in this dressing is excellent and it is not real thick once it's blended, but I loved it! Next time I will add less liquid as others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~NorCal Mom~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
I am the submitter of this recipe. I have tried, unsuccessfully so far, to have it corrected. The water should be 1/3 cup, NOT 1/2 cup. The longer you let it mellow, the thicker it gets, also. So if you like your dressing to be thick, BE SURE to make it at least 24 hours before you need it and allow it to rest in the fridge before use. Another way to make it thicker that I can recommend is to put 1 Tb tomato paste in the blender with the rest of the ingredients. The paste not only makes it thicker, it rounds out the taste and imparts a lovely blush. Feel free to add more Parmesan if you like it, which will also lend additional body to the dressing. The flavor is best if you avoid garlic powder (which no self-respecting Italian would ever have in his/her kitchen) and stick with fresh garlic. If raw garlic is too sharp for your taste, brown it lightly in a touch of olive oil before incorporating it. It's well worth the time to do this. Once again, if you find it too acidic for your taste, either use a quality balsamic - from Modena, which has a much smoother finish on the palate, or add a tablespoon of corn syrup and blend well. BTW, one reviewer questioned the olive oil amount, and it only seems low. Don't forget that the mayonnaise is almost pure oil, as well, which is why the recipe only calls for 3 Tb olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
Any time I attempt to make home-made Italian dressing, it never turns out. However not only did this dressing turn out, it was perfect! I used 1/8 tsp. garlic powder and a combo of balsamic vinegar and apple cider vinegar. Tastes great on top of a Greek Salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
It's okay ... I probably won't make again, tho' ....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
Fantastic recipe! I used light mayo (all I had), and balsamic vinegar, also used garlic powder. Thanks Baricat! I will update tomorrow when I serve it with a salad! I can already tell its great though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katie_luvs2bake!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile

Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Goddess Salad Dressing

It’s the classic green salad dressing starring tarragon and parsley.

Italian Dressing Mix

See how to make a quick-and-easy dry Italian dressing mix.

Chef John's Green Goddess Dressing

See how to make creamy, herby Green Goddess dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States