Nonie's Best BBQ Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Made for Recipe Group. I assumed the minced onions meant fresh, so that's what I used. The cooking time seems way too long to me, I only cooked the sauce about 5 minutes and added to the beef, then simmered until the consistency was what I wanted. This is way overboard on the sweet side for me. I didn't really get any other taste from it. I don't get the bbq taste from it at all. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Made this tonight for recipe group. Made half the recipe. It was easy and really good. Didn't know if the minced onion was fresh or dehydrated. Used real onion, minced with my box grater. An inexpensive, quick, delicious "sloppy" supper. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mason and Ella's G-Ma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Holts Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: May 6, 2010
This was a great barbecue sloppy joe! I scaled this down to just 1 lb. of ground beef. I let mine simmer for about 45 min. while waiting on my husband to come home for his lunch break. This had a nice barbecue flavor. I will make these again soon. Thanks Nonie's BBQ is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
Very tasty! I did not have red wine vinegar, so just used white vinegar but it still was great. I added a little of my husband's favorite spicy barbecue sauce for a little extra kick for him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kayepharmd

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Austin, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
I made this for Recipe Group this week. It was very good! I halved the sugar and increased the onion. I didn't simmer the additional 10 minutes at the end, because the consistency seemed just right to me. Next time I think I'd like to add a little green pepper. I’m glad I made this one and we’re looking forward to having the leftovers tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
I followed the recipe, except halved it for one pound of ground beef. The only thing I did different was to add a whole small minced onion, much more than a tablespoon...sure didn't see the need to waste the rest of the onion. I almost forgot the water addition and after I did add it I wished I hadn't...there is no need for the water...you needed a strain it with a slotted spoon or you'd have a really soggy bun. If I make again I will omit the extra water completely, reduce the sugar a tad (although husband thought the sweetness was perfect) and certainly add some minced bell pepper or celery...I'm glad I had the extra onion. It was a nice quick easy meal to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
Not a drop left in the pan. I loved that this recipe was homemade sloppy joe and didn't have that commercial can taste like store bought. One of my sons considers himself a sloppy joe expert and he 100% approved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Total comfort food and a great Saturday night supper. Brought me back to food served when I was growing up...simple good food. Made exactly as written except I subbed a medium minced onion for the 2 tsp (which I assumed was dried). I'd call this Sloppy Joe's. I may have given it 4 stars, though still loved it, but husband and son had 2 helpings and lots of yumms so I changed to a 5. It was a bit sweet but not overly so. Served it with toasted whole wheat buns, sweet potatoe fries and a green salad. It would be equally good over rice or with egg noodles. I will make it again and may eliminate the white sugar and add another TBSP of brown or may sub some tomatoe paste in for some of the ketchup. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quincy, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Made these for lunch today & as part of the Recipe Group pick for 3.24.12. These made tasty sammies! I scaled the recipe to 6 servings for 1 lb of ground meat. I added some diced green/red pepper to the meat I needed to use up, but otherwise made as written. Delish! Thanks for sharing your recipe with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: May 15, 2009
Similar to Sloppy Joes but much, much better! I use Splenda and whole wheat buns to make it healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Best Hamburger Ever

See how to make juicy grilled burgers loaded with good stuff.

Upside Down BBQ Meatloaf

See how to make a super-quick and easy meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States