Nonie's Best BBQ Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
This isn't bad...but, is a little sweet. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
Very good flavor. Reminds me of my mother's recipe. I like the tang. I think the next time I will add green peppers for extra veggies. I didn't cook the sauce in a separate pan. After the meat browned, I drained it and then added the sauce to the meat mixture and let it simmer for 15 minutes or so. Saves a pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Loved the recipe but did tweak it a bit - added more minced onion and salt as well as garlic powder, chili powder, & Worcestershire sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Made for Recipe Group. I assumed the minced onions meant fresh, so that's what I used. The cooking time seems way too long to me, I only cooked the sauce about 5 minutes and added to the beef, then simmered until the consistency was what I wanted. This is way overboard on the sweet side for me. I didn't really get any other taste from it. I don't get the bbq taste from it at all. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Total comfort food and a great Saturday night supper. Brought me back to food served when I was growing up...simple good food. Made exactly as written except I subbed a medium minced onion for the 2 tsp (which I assumed was dried). I'd call this Sloppy Joe's. I may have given it 4 stars, though still loved it, but husband and son had 2 helpings and lots of yumms so I changed to a 5. It was a bit sweet but not overly so. Served it with toasted whole wheat buns, sweet potatoe fries and a green salad. It would be equally good over rice or with egg noodles. I will make it again and may eliminate the white sugar and add another TBSP of brown or may sub some tomatoe paste in for some of the ketchup. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quincy, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Recipe Group Selection: 24, March 2012 ~ This was quick and easy to put together. Hubby ate one sandwich and I froze the rest in individual containers for his lunches. He said it was good, but tasted like the sloppy joes I always make. My personal recipe is very similar to this one. I appreciated that this weeks choice was quick and I had all the ingredients on hand. UPDATE: Used this as a hot dog topping for dinner - very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
I made this for recipe group for 3/24/12. I thought these were pretty yummy. I only had 1 lb of beef, so I had to cut the recipe in half, and it made about 4 good sized sandwiches. We toasted the buns in the toaster which was a good idea. I thought it looked like a homemade sloppy joe, but it did have a slight bbq flavor to it. This will be great to make, for a quick dinner, for little ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
I followed the recipe, except halved it for one pound of ground beef. The only thing I did different was to add a whole small minced onion, much more than a tablespoon...sure didn't see the need to waste the rest of the onion. I almost forgot the water addition and after I did add it I wished I hadn't...there is no need for the water...you needed a strain it with a slotted spoon or you'd have a really soggy bun. If I make again I will omit the extra water completely, reduce the sugar a tad (although husband thought the sweetness was perfect) and certainly add some minced bell pepper or celery...I'm glad I had the extra onion. It was a nice quick easy meal to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
This was the Recipe Group selection for 3/24/12. I wasn’t crazy about this recipe but my husband called this “good bar food” and rated it 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
This is the first time we've made a recipe for the Recipe Group. I had been craving Sloppy Joes, so the timing was perfect. We really enjoyed this. We used half ground beef and half ground turkey because that is what we had on hand. We did not add the white sugar. The leftovers are great, too! We will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annekj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Papillion, Nebraska, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Best Hamburger Ever

See how to make juicy grilled burgers loaded with good stuff.

Upside Down BBQ Meatloaf

See how to make a super-quick and easy meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States