Noni Afghani Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
This was easy and came out well, but the flavour wasn't anything special
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nonarina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
This is the closest I think I could ever get to Afghani bread. The recipe is easy and fast to put together. I read the reviews before beginning and many people suggested adding a bit more salt. I thought I'd stick to the original recipe but now that it's done I wish i would have added more salt. I think I'll try again in the future and I will definitely add more salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
Great and very easy recipe, just needed more salt, and very versatile to add different herbs and spices. I like to bake it so it's still soft so then I can reheat for subsequent meals without it getting too hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
kind of plain on it's own, but i think it's supposed to be like that - we ate it with curry, dipping it in the liquid. delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chikalin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Englewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
this has got to be the easiest and best bread recipe i have used. a hint for all bread is to use the "better for bread" flour, by the way. my husband was deployed in afghanistan for a year and recalls many nights eating with the natives and says this bread tastes so similar. he says this one rises more and over there, they would just make one HUGE loaf.. but it was a big hit with him and his work buddies. i will use this one again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by khitam
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
easy to make and the taste is wonderful... the caraway seeds didn't add much to the taste ... next time i'll keep it plain or add sesame seeds instead but overall fantastic recipe thanks for sharing .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by khitam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Ok, I admit I got in a hurry after I came home from grocery shopping, didn't pay attention, and added the egg to the dough and almost all of the water upfront. Nevertheless, these turned out great. I patted (rarely use a rolling pin) them very thin and sprinkled with a mixture of toasted sesame seeds and a bit of kosher salt before baking (did use the egg wash). I baked them on a stone, and they are nice and crispy outside witha bit of soft fluff inside. They'll go perfectly with my veggie curry tonight! Thank you for the recipe...adding to my recipe box now...oh, and I also used a half and half mixture of AP flour and white whole wheat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
this is fun to make and turned out excellent. made it for my daughter's school project. i would not omit the caraway seeds...they add a lot to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn Cerny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
Excellent stuff! I didn't use caraway seeds; because some of the reviews said the bread lacked flavor I added two teaspoons of sea salt to the dough and topped the egg wash with something different on each loaf. One each plain, sesame seeds, garlic powder, rosemary, thyme, celery seed, dried minced onion and Mrs. Dash tomato basil garlic mix. The bread was soft and yummy, we enjoyed it very much! Took a little over 30 minutes total in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Darryl
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
The caraway seeds really make this bread tasty. My bread rose a lot more than it should have - making it look more like western-style buns. I'm not sure how to keep the bread flat with all that yeast. Tasty nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darryl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

Indian Naan II

See how to make authentic Indian flatbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States