Non-Edible Cinnamon Dough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
i have a similar recipe that smells way better for alot longer...just add 2 tbsp of ground cloves, 1 tbsp ground allspice, 1 tbsp ground nutmeg to the cinnamon (which my recipe calls for 3/4 cup ground cinnamon...and 3/4 cup applesauce minus 2 tbsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Marcos, California, USA
Living In: Eagle River, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
My kid's and I love to make these. They make great gifts after the kid's have decorated. I did add 2 tbls of "Mod Podge" glue so they don't crumble. I find this brand works better than white glue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peglaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morristown, New York, USA
Living In: Watertown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
I made these, they were really fun and smelled great, made the whole house smell wonderfull. To the person who reviewed this first....*YOU ARE NOT SUPPOSE TO BAKE THEM* Great recipe ( Don't eat them, lol )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
I use pretty much the same recipe for my preschool class.I use 1 cup applesauce & 1 cup cinnamon,cut & let dry as recipe calls for.I have grandparents tell me there kids made them & they still look good after 25 years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carolyn29702

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Blacksburg, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
These make great gifts at the holidays. You can paint the finished cutouts and hang them anywhere you want an apple cinnamon scent. They are especially nice in the car. To the person who thought the mix was too wet, simply add some more cinnamon. They last for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
I used this in my classroom of 2 & 3 year olds. GREAT!! The whole preschool smelled fantastic. Easy. Keeps for days if sealed in a ziplock bag. Dried well-some curling. We used a sharpie to write names and dates on the backs of our ornaments. We will definately use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
I've made this "playdough" for years. Adding some other spices to it lends for some great smelling ornaments. Cloves and allspices are great. You can even use whole cloves to decorate your creations. This year we are planning on making them again. I might add some essential oil to the mixture as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LApagmom2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shaker Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
Another great idea is to cut rectangles of dough and roll to resemble a cinnamon stick. I use these in my boxes of decorations to keep them smelling great while in storage. It works like a charm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2000
This is great fun to make with the kids and they last for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elk City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2001
The recipe was a little "wet". When I baked off the ornaments they stuck to the cookie sheet and some of them broke. I bet if you used a little cooking spray or a Silpat liner it would work a little better. The ornaments smell delicious though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Organic Homemade Baby Food

What's cooking in Ypsilanti? Brenda's yummy homemade baby food.

How to Make Roast Christmas Goose

See the easy way to make gorgeous roast goose for Christmas dinner!

How to Make Roast Leg of Lamb

See how to season and roast a juicy, tender leg of lamb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States