Non-Balaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
This was my family's recipe...not a traditional jamabalaya but our comfort dish, we add a few splashes of soy sauce when served up in the bowl...don't know how that got started but it's our favorite way to eat this. Light in flavor and warm in the belly. This is a great dish when it's gloomy out side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Photo by bandrs
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
The whole family gave their thumbs up to this one! Even though I used turkey smoked sausage to cut down on the fat, I still felt the dish had plenty of flavor. The only think I might do differently next time is to add the parsley at the end. It got a little dark and gummy during cooking. Otherwise, very good. It may not have the spiciness or the seafood in "real" jambalaya but that's just fine for my midwest palate. I'm sure we'll be having this meal often. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bandrs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lowry City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Im from La but this is the way i make my jambalaya, i dont like the tomatoe-y taste or big chunks (or small) in my food. i season all layers with Tonys and this is my perfect jamablaya.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ruston, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
This is very yummy. Hubby got some Hilshire farm smoked Italian flavored sausage on clearance and we made this with it, everyone ate it up - except my rice hating child (but he still ate it). There's only a little bit left over and it's 2 adults and 4 kids (8,6,5,2), even my 2 year old had seconds. Mine was done in 30 minutes and I did let some of the liquid evaporate off, rice was a little mushy but everytime I make a jambalaya-type dish the rice is mushy. Thanks for the recipe mis7up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soifua

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kahuku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Very good comfort food! It was very easy to make and the family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMF443

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
We had this last night and it was really good! I didn't have green onions or fresh parsley, so I used a large onion and used some dried parsley. Also I threw in a red bell pepper because I had to use it up. Very good! At the end of the hour cooking time the bottom was a little brown, but the brown part was really tasty too. I did cheat a little and put in some creole seasoning with the chicken. Everyone loved it. I will definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy Sunshine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Blaine, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2009
This was awesome!!! My whole family loved it, even the picky little girls! I didnt have any green onion, so I just left it out, and I didnt have any fresh parsley, so I used a little dried. Will definately be making this again!! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rusk, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
I chose this recipe because I had the small smoked sausages and didn't know what to do with them. This is a great recipe, will definately cook again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
My mom makes this more me. I love chicken and rice. She's a good cooker.I love smelling the onions and parsley and onion cooking. The best part I like is that I get to add in everything in before she puts the lid on it and we have to wait for the rice to get done. I like putting soy sauce on it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by booboomonkey1996

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Great recipe, I took the idea and ran with it. I left out the chicken only b/c I didn't have any on hand. And I used orzo pasta instead of rice (4c. liquid to half a box of orzo absorbed nicely) It paired lovely. I also used dried parsley. Great, I will be playing with the ingredients in the future. Nice canvas. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

How to Make Lamb Meatballs

See how to make baked lamb meatballs simmered in a simple tomato sauce.

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States