Nobody's Strawberry Watermelon Shakedown Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Made it without the cream and it was still delicious and refreshing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Soo good and refreshing! And easy to whip together!! yummm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Loved it! Very flavorful, and not too heavy. We could actually taste both the watermelon and the strawberries, and the cream gave it a nice smooth flavor. It was a bit too thick so I added milk as I was blending. Will absolutely make this again! A new favorite for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
I made this for Val and Al and both seemed to really like it. I also enjoyed it. Tom said he would rather have a slice of watermelon. Go figure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
I didn't have any cream, so I used ice cream, also used vanilla yogurt. It was delicious, will be having this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSMOON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Suffield, Connecticut, USA
Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
This is a very good and easy recipe. I subbed vanilla yogurt for the plain yogurt and vanilla. I LOVED the addition of the cream. Perfect consistency and very refreshing!! Thanks for posting your recipe, Nobody'sGirl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
I thought this was pretty good. It is a pretty pink color too. I have never had a smoothie made with watermelon. It is an interesting combination. It reminded me of watermelon bubble gum in flavor. I made 1/2 recipe and it made plenty. The only change I made was using agave for the optional sugar, vanilla Greek yogurt, and adding 2 ice cubes because my watermelon was fresh and not frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Reading a few other reviews I’ll play with this smoothie again. Had frozen strawberries on hand – used fresh watermelon – BUT will freeze some watermelon simply for these smoothies. I used stevia extract instead of sugar, store brand plain Greek yogurt and store brand unsweetened almond milk. A lot of dairy clogs up my respiratory system. In recent decade or so – I substitute soy or almond milk over traditional milk a lot. Did not have orange juice on hand – but will use at least a little lemon if I don’t have orange juice next time. This is quite delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by conqueress

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: West Chester, Ohio, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Watermelon, of course, is full of water – and I wanted a more intense watermelon flavor with the strawberries. So I pureed it, and after doing so I allowed the solids to settle and then poured off the water. It worked great! Instead of yogurt and cream I used homemade strawberry ice cream. I left out the orange juice because to be honest I think its flavor is too bold and detracts from other flavors. I forgot to add the vanilla but I didn’t miss it. Since I had neither the water from the watermelon nor the orange juice, I added half-and-half to compensate. This was wonderful. Hubs couldn’t put his finger on what was in it and called it almost like fruit punch. (Did I mention I threw in some frozen raspberries with this too?) I liked this more than most I’ve made which, frankly, are getting kind of boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Delicious, light and summery way to use up frozen watermelon. I had a few minor adjustments - I used vanilla yogurt instead of plain since that's what I had on hand, and low-fat milk instead of cream to cut the calories. Next time I might include one additional tablespoon of orange juice to give it a little more tang.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Strawberry Smoothies

Watch how to make a healthy yogurt and strawberry smoothie in your blender.

B and L's Strawberry Smoothie

Fresh berries, skim milk, plain yogurt, and vanilla make a 5-star smoothie.

Strawberry Pie II

You won’t believe how easy, and tasty, this strawberry pie is.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States