Nobody's Strawberry Watermelon Shakedown Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
I used FF half and half and FF plain yogurt because that's all I keep in the house. My kids didn't even notice. I split this between the both of them and they inhaled it. Then asked me to make another. This is perfect to jumpstart a busy morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
Drats, I just saw another reviewer mention lemonade instead of orange juice & ding, ding, I totally skipped over that :) It was still devine!! So fresh & refreshing. I only had skim milk & I had to add more to get my blender going. I used Splenda & love the addition of the vanilla. I've frozen cantaloupe before for smoothies, but didn't realize watermelon freezes well. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
This was so good! I made a few changes, though. I use lemonade instead of orange juice (that was what I had on hand) and omitted the vanilla (I didn't have any) It was very yummy and refreshing! Next time I make it I will make it the correct way. Thanks, Nobody'sGirl for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geranium

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Watermelon, of course, is full of water – and I wanted a more intense watermelon flavor with the strawberries. So I pureed it, and after doing so I allowed the solids to settle and then poured off the water. It worked great! Instead of yogurt and cream I used homemade strawberry ice cream. I left out the orange juice because to be honest I think its flavor is too bold and detracts from other flavors. I forgot to add the vanilla but I didn’t miss it. Since I had neither the water from the watermelon nor the orange juice, I added half-and-half to compensate. This was wonderful. Hubs couldn’t put his finger on what was in it and called it almost like fruit punch. (Did I mention I threw in some frozen raspberries with this too?) I liked this more than most I’ve made which, frankly, are getting kind of boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Next door neighbor just invited me to join her on her deck for an adult beverage on this fabulous September day. I happened to have some watermelon that was getting a little over-ripe. Worked perfectly in this! I left out the vanilla and yogurt and put in 1/4 cup vanilla flavored rum! Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
This is pretty tasty! The fruit blend is fantastic. This is a perfect way to get rid of leftover fruit, especially those pieces that are still good to eat but don't look pretty enough to go into fruit salads, etc. I also used lemon juice as others suggested and instead of plain yogurt (we never have plain in this house), I used all cream although next time I will just use all parts milk for less calories. The other thing I would say is give this a good taste test before serving because its all going to depend on your fruit, whether it needs more or less sugar. Mine needed a tad more sugar. Last thing is don't let the 1 serving thing fool you. With that "one serving" I had enough for me, my husband and my toddler!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hialeah, Florida, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
I had not-very-sweet strawberries and an under-ripe watermelon, but once I put everything together it was GREAT! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
Very good smoothie recipe that I will make again. I honestly forgot the orange juice when I made this, but I will add it in next time. I love that it is light on the watermelon. A great way for us to use up watermelon. My fridge was packed and my watermelon and strawberries froze, so this worked out great. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
I used milk instead of cream, and roughed the amounts of that and the yogurt. Great after a walk on a hot day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Our weather has been so cold lately that I had picked out a hot chocolate recipe for my kids to have today, but we had a balmy 65 degree day, and everyone was in the mood for smoothies instead. My watermelon wasn't frozen, but this turned out great. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Strawberry Smoothies

Watch how to make a healthy yogurt and strawberry smoothie in your blender.

Glazed Doughnut Strawberry Shortcake

Split glazed doughnut layered with sweet strawberries and freshly whipped cream.

Strawberry Soda Syrup

Beat back the heat with ice-cold homemade strawberry sodas and lemonade!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States