Nobody's Strawberry Watermelon Shakedown Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
I used FF half and half and FF plain yogurt because that's all I keep in the house. My kids didn't even notice. I split this between the both of them and they inhaled it. Then asked me to make another. This is perfect to jumpstart a busy morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
This was so good! I made a few changes, though. I use lemonade instead of orange juice (that was what I had on hand) and omitted the vanilla (I didn't have any) It was very yummy and refreshing! Next time I make it I will make it the correct way. Thanks, Nobody'sGirl for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geranium

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
Drats, I just saw another reviewer mention lemonade instead of orange juice & ding, ding, I totally skipped over that :) It was still devine!! So fresh & refreshing. I only had skim milk & I had to add more to get my blender going. I used Splenda & love the addition of the vanilla. I've frozen cantaloupe before for smoothies, but didn't realize watermelon freezes well. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
This was so refreshing and delicious. I used all skim milk (no yogurt) and also next time I think I will just cut out the sugar for a low cal version. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley_S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
I had not-very-sweet strawberries and an under-ripe watermelon, but once I put everything together it was GREAT! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Very nice!!!!!!!!1 Im surprised you cant win a man over with one of these things!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheshire Cat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
I am having this right now as a dessert! It is divine! I did use lemon juice instead of orange juice as other reviewers did, and substituted the sugar with Splenda to cut the calories! DELICIOUS! I can't wait to make this again on a hot summer day!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
This is pretty tasty! The fruit blend is fantastic. This is a perfect way to get rid of leftover fruit, especially those pieces that are still good to eat but don't look pretty enough to go into fruit salads, etc. I also used lemon juice as others suggested and instead of plain yogurt (we never have plain in this house), I used all cream although next time I will just use all parts milk for less calories. The other thing I would say is give this a good taste test before serving because its all going to depend on your fruit, whether it needs more or less sugar. Mine needed a tad more sugar. Last thing is don't let the 1 serving thing fool you. With that "one serving" I had enough for me, my husband and my toddler!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hialeah, Florida, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
What a nice light smoothie. I wil definitely be making this again. I made a few changes. I had my watermelon stored in a ziploc bag and ended up adding some watermelon juice which helped b/c I had used frozen strawberries so there was not as much liquid. I also used stevia instead of sugar and it tasted great. Also used the lemon and it added a nice brightness to it. Next time I may add a little bit of mint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Wonderful, but I did have to make some changes. I didn't have cream and I only had vanilla yogurt so I used 1/2 cup of the vanilla yogurt in place of them. I used 2 tbsp Splenda instead of sugar. When I blended it, it was too thick so I had to add some skim milk until it was able to blend. It was a thick yummy smoothie that my little girls loved too. Loved the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Dauterman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northwood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Strawberry Smoothies

Watch how to make a healthy yogurt and strawberry smoothie in your blender.

Strawberry Pie II

You won’t believe how easy, and tasty, this strawberry pie is.

Strawberry Soda Syrup

Beat back the heat with ice-cold homemade strawberry sodas and lemonade!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States