Nobody's Strawberry Watermelon Shakedown Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Next door neighbor just invited me to join her on her deck for an adult beverage on this fabulous September day. I happened to have some watermelon that was getting a little over-ripe. Worked perfectly in this! I left out the vanilla and yogurt and put in 1/4 cup vanilla flavored rum! Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Yum! Creamy, sweet, cold, fruity . . . this is great. The orange came through a little stronger than I expected. I'd be curious to try lemon or lime juice next time instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Good but not great - not a lot of flavor (even though my berries and watermelon were both juicy and sweet by themselves), at least without the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
All 4 of my kids Loved this!! As did I. Delicious, light, and great for these 108 degree days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetgypsygurl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Meridian, Texas, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Wonderful, but I did have to make some changes. I didn't have cream and I only had vanilla yogurt so I used 1/2 cup of the vanilla yogurt in place of them. I used 2 tbsp Splenda instead of sugar. When I blended it, it was too thick so I had to add some skim milk until it was able to blend. It was a thick yummy smoothie that my little girls loved too. Loved the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northwood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
What a nice light smoothie. I wil definitely be making this again. I made a few changes. I had my watermelon stored in a ziploc bag and ended up adding some watermelon juice which helped b/c I had used frozen strawberries so there was not as much liquid. I also used stevia instead of sugar and it tasted great. Also used the lemon and it added a nice brightness to it. Next time I may add a little bit of mint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
This is pretty tasty! The fruit blend is fantastic. This is a perfect way to get rid of leftover fruit, especially those pieces that are still good to eat but don't look pretty enough to go into fruit salads, etc. I also used lemon juice as others suggested and instead of plain yogurt (we never have plain in this house), I used all cream although next time I will just use all parts milk for less calories. The other thing I would say is give this a good taste test before serving because its all going to depend on your fruit, whether it needs more or less sugar. Mine needed a tad more sugar. Last thing is don't let the 1 serving thing fool you. With that "one serving" I had enough for me, my husband and my toddler!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hialeah, Florida, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
I am having this right now as a dessert! It is divine! I did use lemon juice instead of orange juice as other reviewers did, and substituted the sugar with Splenda to cut the calories! DELICIOUS! I can't wait to make this again on a hot summer day!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Very nice!!!!!!!!1 Im surprised you cant win a man over with one of these things!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheshire Cat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
I had not-very-sweet strawberries and an under-ripe watermelon, but once I put everything together it was GREAT! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Strawberry Smoothies

Watch how to make a healthy yogurt and strawberry smoothie in your blender.

B and L's Strawberry Smoothie

Fresh berries, skim milk, plain yogurt, and vanilla make a 5-star smoothie.

Strawberry Pie II

You won’t believe how easy, and tasty, this strawberry pie is.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States