No-Tomatoes-Required Italian Seasoned Stir Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I made this on Labour Day and had to substitute for items I didn't have on hand. (Substituted asparagus for the zucchini, italian seasoning for the garlic powder and balsamic vinagrette for the italian dressing). We really, really enjoyed it and I'd like to try it again with the proper ingredients. My only regret is that we didn't have any white wine to drink with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HALLIE_TORONTO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
For the person who's chicken turned out soggy---make sure to brown the chicken very well over medium high heat to sear and create a crust. The main point of the flour is to thicken the sauce while cooking. Also, I make my own italian dressing, as the bottled kind has way too much sodium for my likeing and also to many other "strange ingredients"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
This was a great dish. We used shrimp instead of chicken (cook separately and add shrimp at the end or they will be over done), vegetable stock instead of chicken stock, and extra zucchini in place of the mushrooms. We also did what other commenters said and used balsamic vinegar instead of Italian. We served it over couscous. I'll definitely be making this again!! It had great flavors, I cleaned my plate. We made the '4 servings' but it was just enough for two people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
This was good, but my chicken got soggy so I would skip flouring the chicken. Very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
I substituted carrots for the zucchini, and used a balsamic vinaigrette instead of the Italian dressing. Served it over wild rice--very glad I made enough for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
This was pretty good. I took another reviewers advice and skipped the flour. Next time I will add the vegetables and chicken at the same time, the vegetables were a little too crunchy for our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
I made this as is but increased the amount of garlic powder to 2 teaspoons...delicious!! We had it for dinner with rice and with bowtie (farfallle) pasta - YUMMO both ways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This is a good basic stir-fry recipe and as the contributer points out it can be made with any choice selection of vegetables. I keep a good supply of homemade strongly flavoured garlic oil so I can eliminate the garlic powder and also add Fennel, oregano and and fresh green olives, eliminate dressing, and make sure that all vegetables have a nice crunch to them aftr cooking. I also prefer chicken thighs but that is what we chefs do, we play with the bounty of the earth and the ocean. Good recipe, have fun with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
I even changed the recipe that I submitted! This time I made it with bacon-wrapped turkey tenderloins. I fried up the bacon separately and then browned the flour-coated turkey cubes in some of the bacon drippings. And I saved the crumbled bacon for a garnish. The flavors in this stir-fry work equally well with pork or even beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
Great dish! It was great over couscous. Very light meal, but very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Garlic Chicken Stir Fry

See how to make a quick stir-fry with plenty of garlic and crunchy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States