No Tomato Pasta Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I made this because my husband cannot have tomatoes because of his renal diet it is a pretty good substitute for spaghetti sauce I'm very happy I found it I added extra green pepper and extra oregano
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
This is amazingly good!! What a great tomato sauce substitute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I'm allergic to tomatoes and this recipe has been so amazing. I've made it twice, one with fresh carrots and once with canned. Canned is definitely better - fresh carrots made the sauce too sweet. It also needs a pretty liberal addition of salt (to taste). I also add extra oregano and basil. It also holds up really well: reheating pizza, frozen then microwaved, etc. According to a friend, much better than pumpkin-based no-tomato sauces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
I absolutely LOVE Italian & Mexican foods, but something in the tomato causes swelling in my feet & ankles. I have had this recipe for quite a while, & I finally got around to using it this past Sunday to go over my meatloaf, and BOY-OH-BOY-OH-BOY!! Am I ever glad I did! I didn't have a bay leaf, so I added a little more Italian Seasoning, tweaked my seasonings (a pinch of sugar, a dash of hot sauce, & a splash of Sweet Chili sauce)...it made quite a bit (enough so that turned around & used the leftovers & made spaghetti for the next nite!) I will most DEFINITELY be tweaking the Italian Seasonings & using my favorite Mexican seasonings (chili powder, cumin, & Adobe) to make some homemade chili within the next few weeks! I did take a picture of the meatloaf when it was done..at work right now, so I will upload it later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RecipeGuru

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gary, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
It's sweet and a nice change of pace. We were checking our family for salicalyte sp?) intollerances and needed a tomato free spaghetti sauce. Its a bold pink color and ppl watching you reheat and eat your leftovers are gonna give you funny looks but I truthfully didnt mind it. I could go either way, traditional or beet sauce. We call it 'Beetsghetti' at our house and even the kids like it. Great way to sneak in new flavours in a familiar way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
I stumbled across a similar recipe after finding out my son and I were allergic to tomatoes. I use cider vinegar instead of the red wine vinegar and oregano, basil, onion powder, parsley and thyme instead of Italian seasoning. I also use the main ingredients (beets, carrots, and vinegar) with different spices to make ketchup, barbeque sauce, salsa, sloppy joes and chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
need to add broth and more veggies, but other then that it's really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
I loved it! I recently found that me and tomatoes are not getting along, so this recipe is a blessing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
I was diagnosed with a tomato allergy a few years ago and have missed my homemade lasagna so SO bad. This sauce was the first time I've had good lasagna in years!! If you have a tomato allergy, this recipe is life changing :) To me, it just tastes like a low-acid tomato sauce. My husband complained loudly about how he'll hate the sauce because he can't stand beets. But after he tried it, he's been more than willing to go for seconds. He admits that you can't taste the beets. My only suggestion is adding a few tablespoons of chicken broth and plenty of oregano and basil. The sauce takes on the seasonings very well. THANK YOU!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Love this recipe! I'm allergic tomatoes and I thought I was destined to a life with no spaghetti, thanks to you, I'm not! I added red wine to make the sauce less thick, and it turned out great. Thanks so much for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta

See how to make a quick, creamy, rave-worthy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States