No Tomato Pasta Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Emancipation
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
I tried this last night and used fresh beets & carrots (not canned). It worked like a charm to boil the veggies, blend then and by adding a bit of the carrot water back into the blended veggies, it created a beautiful sauce. THANK YOU for sharing this recipe! My hubby cannot tolerate tomatoes so this has given us a way to share everything from pizza to pasta to chili again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Wow! After receiving sticker-shock at the price of the no-tomato sauce in my local whole food store, I went in search of a recipe I could do myself. I am pleasantly surprised at how deceiving this is! My youngest son has a tomato sensitivity and this is a great substitute. Make sure to use the red wine vinegar to match the acidity of the tomatoes. I am now going to research no-tomato ketchup recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Man oh man, this was good! I sent this recipe to a co-worker that's allergic to tomatoes. He brought it in to work and let me try it. It's yummy! I can tell that there are other veggies in the sauce, but I couldn't tell you that there weren't tomatoes in it. I'm going to start adding this in with my regular tomato based sauce just to get more veggies into the mix. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRACYMTN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Opelika, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Making this from scratch (boiling the carrots and beets) was a lot of work and it just tasted weird! I could definitely taste the red wine vinegar, and it didn't taste at all like tomatoes. The only saving grace were the onions and italian seasoning. Still, it is edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda from MA CT NJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilbraham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stamford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
I am allergic to tomatoes and this recipe is wonderful. My husband and both my kids liked it too. I can finally have pizza with sauce and make lasagna again! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I was really excited to find this recipe since my girlfriend is allergic to tomatoes. The first time I made it, it was a little more pasty than saucy. The next time I made it I added in some roasted red bell pepper (from the jar, blended), a little vegetable broth, and pepper. This made it more saucy and tasty! So thankful to have a tomato sauce substitute, and cheap to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
What a wonderful recipe - I was recently told to stay away from tomatoes and was missing the Italian foods that my family seems to survive on! Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
wonderful can't get enough! no acid reflux at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
I would rate this a 5* for flavor, however the consistency is more like a tomato paste. I added a bit of water to thin it, but I would recommend a bit of vegetable broth, which I didn't have on hand. My grandson is allergic to tomatoes, so this was a real treat to fix for him so that he could have spaghetti with the rest of the family. Great recipe, easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Delicious and a great substitute for a tomato sauce. I agree with the others: add vegetable broth to make it more sauce-like, otherwise it seemed too thick to me. I also added chopped fresh basil, which I think added extra flavor. Thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta

See how to make a quick, creamy, rave-worthy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States