No Tomato Pasta Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Love this recipe! I'm allergic tomatoes and I thought I was destined to a life with no spaghetti, thanks to you, I'm not! I added red wine to make the sauce less thick, and it turned out great. Thanks so much for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
wow this sauce is actually quite delicious. I normally hate beets but i made this for my bf who hates tomato sauce. To my surprise i really likes this sauce too. The vinegar help to cut the sweetness quite well (the sweetness is what i hate about beets). Overall this is a very good and healthy variation on pasta sauce. thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I can't eat red tomatoes and have been looking for alternatives to Alfredo and pesto sauce for quite a while. I really liked this recipe. It mimicked "red" sauce so well, I had to train my brain that it was ok to eat :) it came out a little too thick, but I think that was because I used fresh carrots instead of canned. My husband (the anti-vegetarian) and my picky teen even tried it and liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
What a great idea! This was delicious. I used garden beets and fresh carrots (steamed then cooked w/ spices then pureed) and added about 3/4 c cooked red lentils for protein (you can't taste them but they make for a filling meal). Had to add about 1/2 c water for consistency. I used rice vinegar as didn't have the other -- served wi/ veggie pasta and a side of kale, a sprinkle of old cheddar. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaperWest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape Breton, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Delicious and a great substitute for a tomato sauce. I agree with the others: add vegetable broth to make it more sauce-like, otherwise it seemed too thick to me. I also added chopped fresh basil, which I think added extra flavor. Thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
I would rate this a 5* for flavor, however the consistency is more like a tomato paste. I added a bit of water to thin it, but I would recommend a bit of vegetable broth, which I didn't have on hand. My grandson is allergic to tomatoes, so this was a real treat to fix for him so that he could have spaghetti with the rest of the family. Great recipe, easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
wonderful can't get enough! no acid reflux at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
What a wonderful recipe - I was recently told to stay away from tomatoes and was missing the Italian foods that my family seems to survive on! Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I was really excited to find this recipe since my girlfriend is allergic to tomatoes. The first time I made it, it was a little more pasty than saucy. The next time I made it I added in some roasted red bell pepper (from the jar, blended), a little vegetable broth, and pepper. This made it more saucy and tasty! So thankful to have a tomato sauce substitute, and cheap to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta

See how to make a quick, creamy, rave-worthy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States