No Tomato Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I didn't follow the recipe exactly, and I didn't use any chili sauce. That said, this is an awesome guideline to make your own wonderful version of no tomato chili. I used yellow and orange bell peppers, carrots, potatoes, and mushrooms. I also added a little chalula hot sauce since I omitted the chili sauce. I used only 1 lb beef and 1 can beans. Instead of beef broth, I used beef gravy and it was awesome! It tasted great and and was good for me! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
I have been using this recipe to make chili for almost a year now. I use 2 cans of spicy V8 juice and one can or bottle of beer(whatever we have in house) instead of the broth. During the cooking process the alcohol cook out and the sauce become thick and yummy. I also only add black beans and I add just a tiny and I mean it TINY pinch of cinnamon. I learned that from Alton Brown. This is always a hit at my house my husband eats it everyday at lunch till it's gone. Chili is kind of no fail so play with the recipe, make it your own. Good luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Excellent chili, we cooked it the way the recipe called for, but put it in the slowcooker so that the flavors could mix and simmer for a while! We topped it with cheddar, sour cream and jalapenos, and served it with crackers! I got rave reviews from the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Finally, a Chili I can cook for anyone. I'm not a big fan of tomato chunks in my chili, so this was a nice departure. What struck me was both a mixture of sweet flavors and the heat from the chili powder. Fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
I really did not care for this recipe. It was entirely too sweet. The two bottles of chili sauce were the culprit and completely unnecessary, in my opinion. I spent the entire day adding ingredients to tame down the sweetness, which, unfortunately, was unrecoverable. In summary, if you like the taste of chili sauce, you'll like this recipe. If you like the taste of authentic chili, you might not like this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MG648

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
I am allergic to tomatoes and thought I was doomed to never eat chili again. I was so excited that I found a recipe that lookes and tastes just like regular chili but without the tomatoes. I made the recipe just as described, and wasn't sure what chile sauce was so bought and used "green chile enchilada sauce". The chili was so delicious, and my tomato-loving boyfriend also loved it. He could not tell the difference. This was perfect and I will be saving this recipe for monthly use! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
This was great! I forgot to buy chili sauce so I used Hot Mexican Chili Powder and some crushed red pepper flakes. It was just the right amount of heat for me and no yucky tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
This is by far the BEST chili recipe! The great thing is that you can use this recipe alone to make excellent chili or add whatever you like to make the recipe yours. And it is SOOO easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
I am very upset right now because I had to call for pizza which is more money that I had to spend because of this dinner. This is way to sweet and tangy and then it was too hot for our children which are 8&10. I do will not recomend this to anyone. I hate to sound so rude but really this was not good it was like a sloppy joe chili..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Q'sLady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kirkland, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
I really didn't like this at all, which makes me sad because I really wanted to! It was just way too tangy for us to eat. Maybe it would be better to us if I just used 1 jar of the chili sauce but it was too bitter. Sorry. :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Chase Simon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States