No Tomato Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
This was great! I forgot to buy chili sauce so I used Hot Mexican Chili Powder and some crushed red pepper flakes. It was just the right amount of heat for me and no yucky tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
This is by far the BEST chili recipe! The great thing is that you can use this recipe alone to make excellent chili or add whatever you like to make the recipe yours. And it is SOOO easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
I am very upset right now because I had to call for pizza which is more money that I had to spend because of this dinner. This is way to sweet and tangy and then it was too hot for our children which are 8&10. I do will not recomend this to anyone. I hate to sound so rude but really this was not good it was like a sloppy joe chili..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Q'sLady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kirkland, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
I really didn't like this at all, which makes me sad because I really wanted to! It was just way too tangy for us to eat. Maybe it would be better to us if I just used 1 jar of the chili sauce but it was too bitter. Sorry. :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Chase Simon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
This is the perfect chili. Exactly what I think of when I think chili, sweet and spicy. I will make this many more times I'm sure! And it makes a lot so we have plenty of left overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
This recipe was edible, but the tang of the chili sauce overwhelmed the dish. I added some brown sugar to try to correct this, and while it help, the chili just wasn't good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sumchelle
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
This, unexpectedly, knocked my socks off! I did make a couple teeny changes: Only had two lbs beef, which I browned with the onion and green / red bell peppers (Penzey's dehyd), Used a bit less chili powder (kids are supposed to eat this for dinner), No cumin (fresh out), and just a kiss of oregano. I used two cans of Bush's Chili beans (MILD) - drained, but not rinsed. And, on my bowl, I didn't add any cheese, jalapeno or sour cream - it doesn't need it!!! Threw it into the crock pot this morning on LOW, then I knocked it down to warm - was ready for lunch and man, this is incredible! I didn't even miss the tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
This was a great dish. The children loved it as well as the hubby!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
This chili is amazing! My son and I really enjoyed it and made it a couple of times. I shared left overs at work and they all liked it as well! I am allergic to tomoatos and it is nice to find such a yummy chili recipe. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
This was a VERY FLAVORFUL chili!! I have tried several recipes from this site and always go back to my own cause my family really likes it. However my daughter really dislikes chunky tomatoes in her chili. I usually puree them in my version. This was the main reason for trying this chili. SO GLAD I DID!! This will be my "other" choice on occasion. The CHILI SAUCE, beef broth and worcheshire sauce make this so special. I only had 2 1/4 pounds of beef so I basically cut back slightly on all the other ingredients. However for the chili powder I started with 2 TBLS, tasted after 20 minutes and added another TBLS. My daughter can't eat it too spicy. After she had 2 helpings and LOVED it, I added 1 MORE TBLS. of chili powder (4 total). The flavor was so smooth with the heat slightly at the end of the bite. I was pleasantly surprised how really good this chili was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States