No Tomato Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
Omitted the beans but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Was super delish! Makes a bunch, so am freezing for future purposes--I'm thinking even as a dip or on top of hamburgers and hotdogs!! Really liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
This recipe won me best meat chili at a chili cook-off! That said, it's very spicy. My father-in-law wouldn't eat more than 2 bites. If I could do it again, I would go less on the chili powder & chile sauce, but just barely. But then again, maybe I wouldn't have won :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Upon reading the other reviews I decided to make this recipe because I know what my family likes and how to adjust the heat in dishes for my kids. That being said, if your children do not like hot chili then maybe making a recipe with two jars of chili sauce and 5 tbls of chili powder is not the best idea for them. I tweaked this recipe down to 2 tbls chili powder and just a healthy squirt of sriracha sauce. Instead of kidney and cannelini beans I used a can of black beans and a can of beans in chili sauce, both undrained. I also substituted beef broth for a can of beef consomme and added one tsp onion powder and one tsp garlic powder. The taste was phenomenal. I served this with sour cream & cheddar cheese. I would recommend this recipe for people who are used to making chili but are just looking for something different. Also, have a back up dinner option just in case.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brisa Wiemiller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, California, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I really loved this recipe.. but i modified it a bit so it may not be the same. I added a can of beer for flavor and skipped the chile sauce because of the iffy reviews about it. I added 1/4 cup of brown sugar and a pinch of cinnamon. It was a tad sweet but with cornbread it was down to earth and heavenly...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
This is Spicy but so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krystle Bratton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aubrey, Texas, USA
Living In: Ladson, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
This recipe gets 4 stars because it's easy to follow and helped me customize my own "no tomato chili" using this as a guideline! Because I am allergic to tomatoes and any product containing tomatoes, I ommitted the call for the chilli sauce. Instead, I used a half cup of asian hot sauce (the one with the green nossle top), and a large jar of roasted red bell pepers (pureed). Those additions, with the orginal items from the recipe gave me an excellent consistency and great flavor. It came out really hearty and flavorful. I love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
This was so good! My family & I are vegans, so we omitted the cheese, used a vegetarian Worcestershire sauce, vegetable broth & substituted the beef with tempeh & homemade seitan. I have a daughter who is allergic to tomatoes & was expecting to have to make two different chilis. I'm glad I decided not to, nobody missed the tomatoes in this at all! I'm sure the chili sauce would have added a lot of great flavor too, but if you're like me & making this because you have a tomato allergy, it still tastes great with out it! I thought the spice was really nice too, not too much that my 2 year old couldn't handle with some cornbread, but definitely has a kick. However my 68 year old dad said it was way too spicy & upset his stomach! :( Beware of the chili powder if you're making it for someone sensitive to heat, I guess. :) Thank you for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LenoresSucker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
The chili sauce was not to my liking...it was way to tangy and did not taste like chili at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I didn't follow the recipe exactly, and I didn't use any chili sauce. That said, this is an awesome guideline to make your own wonderful version of no tomato chili. I used yellow and orange bell peppers, carrots, potatoes, and mushrooms. I also added a little chalula hot sauce since I omitted the chili sauce. I used only 1 lb beef and 1 can beans. Instead of beef broth, I used beef gravy and it was awesome! It tasted great and and was good for me! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States