No Tomato Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
This is Spicy but so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KBratton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aubrey, Texas, USA
Living In: Ladson, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
This recipe gets 4 stars because it's easy to follow and helped me customize my own "no tomato chili" using this as a guideline! Because I am allergic to tomatoes and any product containing tomatoes, I ommitted the call for the chilli sauce. Instead, I used a half cup of asian hot sauce (the one with the green nossle top), and a large jar of roasted red bell pepers (pureed). Those additions, with the orginal items from the recipe gave me an excellent consistency and great flavor. It came out really hearty and flavorful. I love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
This was so good! My family & I are vegans, so we omitted the cheese, used a vegetarian Worcestershire sauce, vegetable broth & substituted the beef with tempeh & homemade seitan. I have a daughter who is allergic to tomatoes & was expecting to have to make two different chilis. I'm glad I decided not to, nobody missed the tomatoes in this at all! I'm sure the chili sauce would have added a lot of great flavor too, but if you're like me & making this because you have a tomato allergy, it still tastes great with out it! I thought the spice was really nice too, not too much that my 2 year old couldn't handle with some cornbread, but definitely has a kick. However my 68 year old dad said it was way too spicy & upset his stomach! :( Beware of the chili powder if you're making it for someone sensitive to heat, I guess. :) Thank you for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LenoresSucker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
The chili sauce was not to my liking...it was way to tangy and did not taste like chili at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I didn't follow the recipe exactly, and I didn't use any chili sauce. That said, this is an awesome guideline to make your own wonderful version of no tomato chili. I used yellow and orange bell peppers, carrots, potatoes, and mushrooms. I also added a little chalula hot sauce since I omitted the chili sauce. I used only 1 lb beef and 1 can beans. Instead of beef broth, I used beef gravy and it was awesome! It tasted great and and was good for me! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
I have been using this recipe to make chili for almost a year now. I use 2 cans of spicy V8 juice and one can or bottle of beer(whatever we have in house) instead of the broth. During the cooking process the alcohol cook out and the sauce become thick and yummy. I also only add black beans and I add just a tiny and I mean it TINY pinch of cinnamon. I learned that from Alton Brown. This is always a hit at my house my husband eats it everyday at lunch till it's gone. Chili is kind of no fail so play with the recipe, make it your own. Good luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Excellent chili, we cooked it the way the recipe called for, but put it in the slowcooker so that the flavors could mix and simmer for a while! We topped it with cheddar, sour cream and jalapenos, and served it with crackers! I got rave reviews from the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Finally, a Chili I can cook for anyone. I'm not a big fan of tomato chunks in my chili, so this was a nice departure. What struck me was both a mixture of sweet flavors and the heat from the chili powder. Fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
I really did not care for this recipe. It was entirely too sweet. The two bottles of chili sauce were the culprit and completely unnecessary, in my opinion. I spent the entire day adding ingredients to tame down the sweetness, which, unfortunately, was unrecoverable. In summary, if you like the taste of chili sauce, you'll like this recipe. If you like the taste of authentic chili, you might not like this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MG648

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
I am allergic to tomatoes and thought I was doomed to never eat chili again. I was so excited that I found a recipe that lookes and tastes just like regular chili but without the tomatoes. I made the recipe just as described, and wasn't sure what chile sauce was so bought and used "green chile enchilada sauce". The chili was so delicious, and my tomato-loving boyfriend also loved it. He could not tell the difference. This was perfect and I will be saving this recipe for monthly use! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States