No Tomato Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
My wife is on a strick diet and can't have tomatoes but loves chili. Tried this and loved it. Substituted turkey and turkey broth instead of beef simple truth organic tri blend beans and left off Worcester plus 2 cups water for more juice. Was amazing will be making again as long as she can't have tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Wife used Heinz chili sauce, main ingredient-TOMATO past. Between the tomato past and vinegar in the chile sauce this seemed to me to have more of a tomato taste than your average Chile. Maybe calling for chile sauce should be more specific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darrell Peterson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Matt Stottlemyer
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I'm not a fan of foods with chunks of tomatoes in them, so I've had a really hard time finding a chili recipe that tasted good, but allowed me to not have to pick tomatoes out. I love this recipe and only tweaked it a little bit. First, I used a can of Bush's chili beans in place of the caneletto beans. And more importantly I used a 12 ounce bottle of Yuengling lager in place of the beef broth. I can't wait to make more chili for the next big football game.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matt Stottlemyer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
thought this was great for a no tomato chili until I read it had chili sauce in it...which tomatoes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
This is not Tomato-free, it just has no added tomato. I had to make substitutions because I wanted tomato-free. Chili sauce is a ketchup-based sauce which adds flavor. I am still searching for tomato-free as my sister is allergic to tomatoes and when she comes I have to make special recipes for her. It is not easy to eliminate tomatoes, trust me. Thanks for an excellent no-tomato, not tomato-free, recipe. I had to rate on what it IS not what it ISN'T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
My review is based on the recipe's basics and proportions, since I ended up improvising quite a bit with ingredients I had on hand. I made half of a batch, since I'm only feeding myself and my DH, but it still made plenty. I substituted Penzey's dehydrated garlic and green and red bell peppers. I used a couple of Tbsp McCormick's hot taco seasoning instead of the majority of the spices, though I did add some extra chili powder and cayenne during the simmer stage as DH and I like it HOT! I did not have Worcestershire or "chili sauce" on hand, so I used a dollop of steak sauce and added a bit of Trader Joe's Sriracha sauce to some regular old Heinz ketchup. I also, subbed a can of spicy borracho beans for the other types. The recipe provided me a great basis for me to adapt to suit our needs and tastes, as DH and I do not like chunky tomato bits in our chili! It WAS a bit sweet due to the addition of ketchup/chili sauce, but it wasn't overwhelmingly so and the sweetness provided a counterbalance to the spiciness that was very enjoyable. Topped with colby jack cheese and served with jalapeño cheese Basic Corn Muffins (also from this site).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I made this for the picky "no-chunky-tomato-eater" in the family. It was good, but I think it needs a bit more kick. The chili sauce I purchased may have given my chili dish a sweet taste (it contained high fructose corn syrup, a corn-based sweetener) which I did not care for. I would like to try again without the sweetener and more chili powder or cayenne (red) pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steve Carlstrom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Plaines, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Great recipe. My husband doesn't like regular chili, but we eat this one over rice and he likes it! I don't use chili sauce. Instead I substitute 2 15 oz. cans of green enchilada sauce, so that there are absolutely no tomato products in the end result. I also add a small (5-6 oz) can of diced green chili peppers into the mix with the enchilada sauce, as well as two cans of pinto beans (in addition to the other beans listed in the recipe). So glad I've found this recipe so I have a chili that my husband will eat and I'm not stuck having to eat the whole pot myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
I'm wondering if I used the wrong kind of chili sauce because this was not popular at all. The chili has an overwhelming vinegar taste. I looked all over the grocery store for "chili sauce" and ended up buying Heinz Chili Sauce in a 12 ounce bottle as it was the only "bottle" that simply said "chili sauce". I followed the rest of the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
First, let me start but I did not follow this recipe exactly. However, it gave me the foundation for building a good chili without tomatoes. I am allergic to tomatoes, but love chili and have not found a substitute yet. I did not use chili sauce or chili powder, just a pack of chili seasoning. I also used my slow cooker with fresh beans (not canned) and let it simmer for 9 hrs on low over night. We woke up and it was yummy! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States