No Time to Cook Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
If I would have made this recipe exactly as stated, I'm sure it wouldn't have turned out so great, like other reviewers have commented. However - I made a couple modifications and it turned out absolutely EXCELLENT! I made the base recipe following the original instructions, except I seasoned the chicken with garlic salt, pepper and paprika. I sliced up a white onion, (not chopped) placed half the onion slices in the bottom of the crockpot, placed the chicken on top, then put the rest of the onions on top of the chicken. I mixed low fat crm of mush. soup & crm of chicken soup in a bowl, added a little milk until it was smooth, and then mixed in a can of diced tomatos & a can of sliced mushrooms. I poured that over the chicken and onions, and sprinkled garlic salt, pepper and paprika on the top of everything. Since it was just for me and my husband, I only use 3 pieces of boneless, skinless chicken breasts. I turned the crockpot on high, it only took 2 1/2 to cook. I served over egg noodles. I'm not kidding. This is one of the BEST dinners I have ever made! The sauce was excellent and the chicken was really really moist and tender. My husband basically licked his plate, and as I'm writing this review, he's over there eating another helping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
224 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle McCormick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
This was a nice change of pace during our busy week. I threw in frozen chicken breasts, a sliced onion in the beginning, garlic powder, salt, pepper, and some minced garlic. Set on high for 6 hours and added 1 bunch of fresh broccoli during the last 30 minutes of cooking. The broccoli was a very nice complement to this! Served over hot rice; no leftovers and loved by all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
206 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2002
This was really tastey! I made it for my husband, the 8 year old boy I care for and his mother and everyone LOVED it! I did make a few changes though. I preseasoned the chicken with pepper, season salt and garlic (mixed the seasonings together and rubbed on the chicken)Then I added sliced fresh mushrooms (about 1/2 lb?) and sprinkled a bit more garlic on them. Then I used cream of mushroom soup instead of the celery and mixed it with the cream of chicken. I poured the soup mixture on top and them mixed a bit (next tim I'll probably just add mushrooms and garlic to the soup mixture and pour over the chicken). Then near the end of cooking I added the sour cream. I served some of the gravy mixture over mashed potatoes and a side of green beans (added some color other than browns). The chicken was REALLY tender and all the breasts but 1 fell apart when I stired in the sour cream. Next time I'll cook a bit less and I may use 6 breasts instead of 4. There was A LOT of gravy left over. Thanks for posting the recipe.:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUCIFEY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
This has been on my list to make all week and I finally dared try it out today. I followed the recipe except for adding garlic powder and salt/pepper. I think it added a lot to the flavor which probably otherwise would have been bland. Also, I saved time by preparing everything in the slow cooker removable dish and put it in the fridge last night and just popped it in the actual unit this morning on my way out the door--it worked perfectly. My husband and I both licked our plates (civilized, I know) and he said "Definitely make this again." Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hurricane, Utah, USA
Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2003
I made this tonight and we liked it very much.. Since it was just for my husband and I, I only used 3 breasts, I also added garlic powder and a couple splashes of worchestire to the chicken.. In a bowl I mixed 1 can of Cream of Mushroom (lower fat) and 1 can Cream of Chicken (lower fat), 1 can of drained mushrooms, and 1 can of the french fried onions.. I then poured it all over the chicken.. I added the sour cream the last 30 minutes..I served my husbands over mashed potatoes and mine over whole wheat rotini.. Really Really good!.. Kiki (Brampton,ON Canada)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
This was great. I really appreciated another reviewer mentioning that he/she put this recipe on high for 6 hours, because I didn't have as much time as the recipe called for. Mine ended up being done by 5.5 hours on high, so this is good to know for the future. I substituted the cream of celery for cream of broccoli, which was delicious, and cut up some fresh mushrooms. Anticipating the extra gravy (which wasn't really all that much)I made some buttermilk biscuits, roasted potatoes and plain steamed veggies, all great for dipping. Will make again 0 thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
This was a really easy dish to prepare. I took the advice of some of the others and seasoned chicken w/ salt, pepper, celery salt, poultry seasoning and some crushed red pepper. I also added a small amount of water to the soups as they seemed a little too thick, and served over egg noodles with a touch of butter and salt. As my TV idol Rachael Ray would say, "YUM-O!!!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
This came out perfect, it was in the crock pot for approximately 10 hours due to work schedule, and it fell apart. My boyfriend never compliments my cooking, but he has for everything I have made from All Receipes. This chicken will be made again and again in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
This was a recipe! I changed it a little though. I added an onion soup mix and put garlic powder, salt and pepper, and paprika. I also put a little milk and water into the chicken mixture. We served it over noodles...It was definatly wonderful and my little one year old just loved it too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
Awesome over rice or noodles. It's become some of my favorite easy comfort food. I sometimes add some frozen vegs to make it a balanced meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEPHANY BROWN

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 334) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States